Skip to content

University of Minnesota-Crookston vs University of Minnesota-Duluth

University of Minnesota-Crookston is a public university in Crookston, MN, and University of Minnesota-Duluth is a public university in Duluth, MN. University of Minnesota-Crookston is the more selective of the two, admitting about 88% of applicants against 89% at University of Minnesota-Duluth. University of Minnesota-Crookston is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $12,212 a year against $18,743 at University of Minnesota-Duluth. About 65% of students graduate at University of Minnesota-Duluth, compared with 50% at University of Minnesota-Crookston. Ten years after enrolling, University of Minnesota-Duluth alumni earn a median of about $62,616, against $58,056 for University of Minnesota-Crookston.

University of Minnesota-Crookston

Crookston, MN · Public

University of Minnesota-Duluth

Duluth, MN · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Crookston, MN
Duluth, MN
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,729
7,336
Acceptance rate
88%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.26–3.76
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
998–1176
1180–1350
ACT (middle 50%)
19–24
23–28
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,212
$18,743
Full cost / yr
$26,068
$27,680
In-state tuition
$13,288
$14,610
Out-of-state tuition
$13,288
$20,130
Application fee
$30
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$5,758
$7,256
$30k - $48k
$6,368
$8,145
$48k - $75k
$7,587
$11,965
$75k - $110k
$13,542
$17,056
Over $110k
$19,289
$24,453
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
65%
Freshman retention
80%
81%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$51,905
$52,840
Median earnings (10 yr)
$58,056
$62,616
Median debt at graduation
$20,500
$22,024
Student body
Pell grant recipients
20%
19%
First-generation students
29%
18%
International students
4%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Aug 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Minnesota-Crookston or University of Minnesota-Duluth harder to get into?
University of Minnesota-Crookston is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 89% at University of Minnesota-Duluth. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Minnesota-Crookston or University of Minnesota-Duluth?
University of Minnesota-Crookston is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,212 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,743 at University of Minnesota-Duluth. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Minnesota-Crookston and University of Minnesota-Duluth?
Before aid, University of Minnesota-Crookston costs about $26,068 a year and University of Minnesota-Duluth about $27,680. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Minnesota-Crookston or University of Minnesota-Duluth?
University of Minnesota-Crookston. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $5,758 there, against about $7,256 at University of Minnesota-Duluth. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Minnesota-Crookston or University of Minnesota-Duluth?
University of Minnesota-Duluth is the larger of the two, with about 7,336 undergraduates against 1,729 at University of Minnesota-Crookston.
Does University of Minnesota-Crookston or University of Minnesota-Duluth have a better graduation rate?
University of Minnesota-Duluth has the higher graduation rate, at about 65% against 50% at University of Minnesota-Crookston.
Do graduates of University of Minnesota-Crookston or University of Minnesota-Duluth earn more?
University of Minnesota-Duluth alumni earn more on average: a median of about $62,616 ten years after enrolling, against about $58,056 for University of Minnesota-Crookston. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Minnesota-Crookston and University of Minnesota-Duluth require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Minnesota-Crookston considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of Minnesota-Duluth is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Minnesota-Crookston and University of Minnesota-Duluth look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 998–1176 at University of Minnesota-Crookston and 1180–1350 at University of Minnesota-Duluth. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school