Skip to content

University of Minnesota-Duluth vs Saint Cloud State University

University of Minnesota-Duluth is a public university in Duluth, MN, and Saint Cloud State University is a public university in Saint Cloud, MN. University of Minnesota-Duluth is the more selective of the two, admitting about 89% of applicants against 95% at Saint Cloud State University. Saint Cloud State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,529 a year against $18,743 at University of Minnesota-Duluth. About 65% of students graduate at University of Minnesota-Duluth, compared with 44% at Saint Cloud State University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Minnesota-Duluth alumni earn a median of about $62,616, against $55,813 for Saint Cloud State University.

University of Minnesota-Duluth

Duluth, MN · Public

Saint Cloud State University

Saint Cloud, MN · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Duluth, MN
Saint Cloud, MN
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
7,336
5,088
Acceptance rate
89%
95%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.35–3.85
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
1180–1350
1025–1260
ACT (middle 50%)
23–28
17–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,743
$13,529
Full cost / yr
$27,680
$21,116
In-state tuition
$14,610
$10,245
Out-of-state tuition
$20,130
$10,245
Application fee
$40
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,256
$8,909
$30k - $48k
$8,145
$9,871
$48k - $75k
$11,965
$12,034
$75k - $110k
$17,056
$14,781
Over $110k
$24,453
$18,989
Outcomes
Graduation rate
65%
44%
Freshman retention
81%
71%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$52,840
$47,215
Median earnings (10 yr)
$62,616
$55,813
Median debt at graduation
$22,024
$21,058
Student body
Pell grant recipients
19%
22%
First-generation students
18%
27%
International students
1%
14%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Minnesota-Duluth or Saint Cloud State University harder to get into?
University of Minnesota-Duluth is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 95% at Saint Cloud State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Minnesota-Duluth or Saint Cloud State University?
Saint Cloud State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,529 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,743 at University of Minnesota-Duluth. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Minnesota-Duluth and Saint Cloud State University?
Before aid, Saint Cloud State University costs about $21,116 a year and University of Minnesota-Duluth about $27,680. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Minnesota-Duluth or Saint Cloud State University?
University of Minnesota-Duluth. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,256 there, against about $8,909 at Saint Cloud State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Minnesota-Duluth or Saint Cloud State University?
University of Minnesota-Duluth is the larger of the two, with about 7,336 undergraduates against 5,088 at Saint Cloud State University.
Does University of Minnesota-Duluth or Saint Cloud State University have a better graduation rate?
University of Minnesota-Duluth has the higher graduation rate, at about 65% against 44% at Saint Cloud State University.
Do graduates of University of Minnesota-Duluth or Saint Cloud State University earn more?
University of Minnesota-Duluth alumni earn more on average: a median of about $62,616 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,813 for Saint Cloud State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Minnesota-Duluth and Saint Cloud State University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Minnesota-Duluth is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Saint Cloud State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Minnesota-Duluth and Saint Cloud State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1180–1350 at University of Minnesota-Duluth and 1025–1260 at Saint Cloud State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school