Skip to content

University of Missouri-Kansas City vs Missouri State University-Springfield

University of Missouri-Kansas City is a public university in Kansas City, MO, and Missouri State University-Springfield is a public university in Springfield, MO. University of Missouri-Kansas City is the more selective of the two, admitting about 72% of applicants against 91% at Missouri State University-Springfield. University of Missouri-Kansas City is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,310 a year against $17,613 at Missouri State University-Springfield. About 58% of students graduate at Missouri State University-Springfield, compared with 56% at University of Missouri-Kansas City. Ten years after enrolling, University of Missouri-Kansas City alumni earn a median of about $59,637, against $49,827 for Missouri State University-Springfield.

University of Missouri-Kansas City

Kansas City, MO · Public

Missouri State University-Springfield

Springfield, MO · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Kansas City, MO
Springfield, MO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
6,817
13,313
Acceptance rate
72%
91%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.56–4
3.27–3.77
SAT (middle 50%)
1290–1550
1020–1270
ACT (middle 50%)
20–28
19–26
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,310
$17,613
Full cost / yr
$25,320
$25,048
In-state tuition
$12,587
$9,502
Out-of-state tuition
$30,227
$18,770
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,576
$13,718
$30k - $48k
$10,472
$13,529
$48k - $75k
$12,613
$14,905
$75k - $110k
$16,019
$18,770
Over $110k
$18,877
$20,576
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
58%
Freshman retention
75%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$50,298
$40,553
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,637
$49,827
Median debt at graduation
$18,750
$21,992
Student body
Pell grant recipients
26%
22%
First-generation students
34%
32%
International students
4%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jun 15
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Missouri-Kansas City or Missouri State University-Springfield harder to get into?
University of Missouri-Kansas City is harder to get into. It admits about 72% of applicants, compared with 91% at Missouri State University-Springfield. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Missouri-Kansas City or Missouri State University-Springfield?
University of Missouri-Kansas City is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,310 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,613 at Missouri State University-Springfield. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Missouri-Kansas City and Missouri State University-Springfield?
Before aid, Missouri State University-Springfield costs about $25,048 a year and University of Missouri-Kansas City about $25,320. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Missouri-Kansas City or Missouri State University-Springfield?
University of Missouri-Kansas City. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,576 there, against about $13,718 at Missouri State University-Springfield. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Missouri-Kansas City or Missouri State University-Springfield?
Missouri State University-Springfield is the larger of the two, with about 13,313 undergraduates against 6,817 at University of Missouri-Kansas City.
Does University of Missouri-Kansas City or Missouri State University-Springfield have a better graduation rate?
Missouri State University-Springfield has the higher graduation rate, at about 58% against 56% at University of Missouri-Kansas City.
Do graduates of University of Missouri-Kansas City or Missouri State University-Springfield earn more?
University of Missouri-Kansas City alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,637 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,827 for Missouri State University-Springfield. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Missouri-Kansas City and Missouri State University-Springfield require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Missouri-Kansas City is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Missouri State University-Springfield considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of Missouri-Kansas City and Missouri State University-Springfield look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1290–1550 at University of Missouri-Kansas City and 1020–1270 at Missouri State University-Springfield. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school