Skip to content

University of Nebraska at Kearney vs University of Nebraska-Lincoln

University of Nebraska at Kearney is a public university in Kearney, NE. University of Nebraska-Lincoln is a public university in Lincoln, NE. University of Nebraska-Lincoln admits about 87% of applicants and University of Nebraska at Kearney about 89%, making University of Nebraska-Lincoln the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $16,242 a year at University of Nebraska at Kearney after aid, and about $17,747 at University of Nebraska-Lincoln. About 66% of students graduate at University of Nebraska-Lincoln, compared with 59% at University of Nebraska at Kearney. Ten years after enrolling, University of Nebraska-Lincoln alumni earn a median of about $56,887, against $50,105 for University of Nebraska at Kearney.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of Nebraska at Kearney

Kearney, NE · Public

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Lincoln, NE · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Kearney, NE
Lincoln, NE
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
4,088
19,178
Acceptance rate
89%
87%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.23–3.73
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
905–1125
1098–1330
ACT (middle 50%)
19–26
22–28
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,242
$17,747
Full cost / yr
$25,808
$26,697
In-state tuition
$8,676
$10,434
Out-of-state tuition
$15,284
$28,584
Application fee
$45
$45
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,066
$12,751
$30k - $48k
$13,350
$13,054
$48k - $75k
$14,547
$14,699
$75k - $110k
$16,703
$18,975
Over $110k
$20,664
$22,346
Outcomes
Graduation rate
59%
66%
Freshman retention
80%
86%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,241
$47,692
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,105
$56,887
Median debt at graduation
$19,500
$21,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
23%
First-generation students
34%
22%
International students
4%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 30
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Nebraska at Kearney or University of Nebraska-Lincoln harder to get into?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln is harder to get into. It admits about 87% of applicants, compared with 89% at University of Nebraska at Kearney. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Nebraska at Kearney or University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
University of Nebraska at Kearney is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,242 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,747 at University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Nebraska at Kearney and University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
Before aid, University of Nebraska at Kearney costs about $25,808 a year and University of Nebraska-Lincoln about $26,697. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Nebraska at Kearney or University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,751 there, against about $13,066 at University of Nebraska at Kearney. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Nebraska at Kearney or University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln is the larger of the two, with about 19,178 undergraduates against 4,088 at University of Nebraska at Kearney.
Does University of Nebraska at Kearney or University of Nebraska-Lincoln have a better graduation rate?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 59% at University of Nebraska at Kearney.
Do graduates of University of Nebraska at Kearney or University of Nebraska-Lincoln earn more?
University of Nebraska-Lincoln alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,887 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,105 for University of Nebraska at Kearney. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Nebraska at Kearney and University of Nebraska-Lincoln require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Nebraska at Kearney is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Nebraska-Lincoln considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of Nebraska at Kearney and University of Nebraska-Lincoln look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 905–1125 at University of Nebraska at Kearney and 1098–1330 at University of Nebraska-Lincoln. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school