Skip to content

University of New Mexico-Main Campus vs Western New Mexico University

University of New Mexico-Main Campus is a public university in Albuquerque, NM. Western New Mexico University is a public university in Silver City, NM. University of New Mexico-Main Campus admits about 95% of applicants and Western New Mexico University about 100%, making University of New Mexico-Main Campus the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $8,522 a year at Western New Mexico University after aid, and about $15,489 at University of New Mexico-Main Campus. About 54% of students graduate at University of New Mexico-Main Campus, compared with 34% at Western New Mexico University. Ten years after enrolling, University of New Mexico-Main Campus alumni earn a median of about $44,792, against $39,095 for Western New Mexico University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of New Mexico-Main Campus

Albuquerque, NM · Public

Western New Mexico University

Silver City, NM · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Albuquerque, NM
Silver City, NM
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
17,244
2,026
Acceptance rate
95%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
890–1170
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
19–26
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,489
$8,522
Full cost / yr
$21,259
$21,562
In-state tuition
$10,140
$7,856
Out-of-state tuition
$33,060
$14,342
Application fee
$25
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,938
$8,381
$30k - $48k
$13,045
$8,336
$48k - $75k
$16,196
$12,493
$75k - $110k
$17,906
Not reported
Over $110k
$19,053
$13,210
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
34%
Freshman retention
76%
58%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,150
$31,166
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,792
$39,095
Median debt at graduation
$18,450
$23,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
43%
First-generation students
41%
48%
International students
2%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of New Mexico-Main Campus or Western New Mexico University harder to get into?
University of New Mexico-Main Campus is harder to get into. It admits about 95% of applicants, compared with 100% at Western New Mexico University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of New Mexico-Main Campus or Western New Mexico University?
Western New Mexico University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $8,522 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,489 at University of New Mexico-Main Campus. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of New Mexico-Main Campus and Western New Mexico University?
Before aid, University of New Mexico-Main Campus costs about $21,259 a year and Western New Mexico University about $21,562. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of New Mexico-Main Campus or Western New Mexico University?
Western New Mexico University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,381 there, against about $11,938 at University of New Mexico-Main Campus. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of New Mexico-Main Campus or Western New Mexico University?
University of New Mexico-Main Campus is the larger of the two, with about 17,244 undergraduates against 2,026 at Western New Mexico University.
Does University of New Mexico-Main Campus or Western New Mexico University have a better graduation rate?
University of New Mexico-Main Campus has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 34% at Western New Mexico University.
Do graduates of University of New Mexico-Main Campus or Western New Mexico University earn more?
University of New Mexico-Main Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $44,792 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,095 for Western New Mexico University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of New Mexico-Main Campus and Western New Mexico University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of New Mexico-Main Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Western New Mexico University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school