Skip to content

University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez vs University of Puerto Rico at Ponce

University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is a public university in Mayaguez, PR. University of Puerto Rico at Ponce is a public university in Ponce, PR. University of Puerto Rico at Ponce admits about 52% of applicants and University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez about 57%, making University of Puerto Rico at Ponce the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $10,990 a year at University of Puerto Rico at Ponce after aid, and about $17,936 at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez. About 48% of students graduate at both. Ten years after enrolling, University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez alumni earn a median of about $48,992, against $31,394 for University of Puerto Rico at Ponce.

University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez

Mayaguez, PR · Public

University of Puerto Rico at Ponce

Ponce, PR · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Mayaguez, PR
Ponce, PR
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
9,539
2,278
Acceptance rate
57%
52%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.51–4
3.46–3.96
SAT (middle 50%)
1150–1410
1000–1290
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
17–25
Test policy
Considered
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,936
$10,990
Full cost / yr
$21,637
$17,193
In-state tuition
$5,274
$5,354
Out-of-state tuition
$5,274
$5,354
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,939
$10,114
$30k - $48k
$17,931
$10,534
$48k - $75k
$17,929
$13,017
$75k - $110k
$17,457
$13,600
Over $110k
$18,466
$12,404
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
48%
Freshman retention
87%
73%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$32,706
$22,404
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,992
$31,394
Median debt at graduation
$8,250
$5,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
65%
83%
First-generation students
17%
21%
International students
0%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Feb 15
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez or University of Puerto Rico at Ponce harder to get into?
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce is harder to get into. It admits about 52% of applicants, compared with 57% at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez or University of Puerto Rico at Ponce?
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,990 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,936 at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez and University of Puerto Rico at Ponce?
Before aid, University of Puerto Rico at Ponce costs about $17,193 a year and University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez about $21,637. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez or University of Puerto Rico at Ponce?
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,114 there, against about $17,939 at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez or University of Puerto Rico at Ponce?
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez is the larger of the two, with about 9,539 undergraduates against 2,278 at University of Puerto Rico at Ponce.
Does University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez or University of Puerto Rico at Ponce have a better graduation rate?
Both graduate about 48% of their students.
Do graduates of University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez or University of Puerto Rico at Ponce earn more?
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez alumni earn more on average: a median of about $48,992 ten years after enrolling, against about $31,394 for University of Puerto Rico at Ponce. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez and University of Puerto Rico at Ponce require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of Puerto Rico at Ponce requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez and University of Puerto Rico at Ponce look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1150–1410 at University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez and 1000–1290 at University of Puerto Rico at Ponce. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school