Skip to content

University of the Cumberlands vs Eastern Kentucky University

University of the Cumberlands is a private university in Williamsburg, KY. Eastern Kentucky University is a public university in Richmond, KY. Eastern Kentucky University admits about 78% of applicants and University of the Cumberlands about 99%, making Eastern Kentucky University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $11,040 a year at Eastern Kentucky University after aid, and about $14,107 at University of the Cumberlands. About 50% of students graduate at Eastern Kentucky University, compared with 48% at University of the Cumberlands. Ten years after enrolling, Eastern Kentucky University alumni earn a median of about $45,795, against $45,036 for University of the Cumberlands.

University of the Cumberlands

Williamsburg, KY · Private

Eastern Kentucky University

Richmond, KY · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Williamsburg, KY
Richmond, KY
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
6,941
12,318
Acceptance rate
99%
78%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.28–3.78
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1160
880–1080
ACT (middle 50%)
16–23
19–25
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,107
$11,040
Full cost / yr
$25,567
$23,735
In-state tuition
$9,875
$10,320
Out-of-state tuition
$9,875
$21,230
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,736
$8,591
$30k - $48k
$11,147
$8,005
$48k - $75k
$12,572
$10,382
$75k - $110k
$16,441
$14,384
Over $110k
$18,846
$17,009
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
50%
Freshman retention
74%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,046
$38,611
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,036
$45,795
Median debt at graduation
$14,911
$22,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
53%
41%
First-generation students
40%
40%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of the Cumberlands or Eastern Kentucky University harder to get into?
Eastern Kentucky University is harder to get into. It admits about 78% of applicants, compared with 99% at University of the Cumberlands. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of the Cumberlands or Eastern Kentucky University?
Eastern Kentucky University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,040 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,107 at University of the Cumberlands. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of the Cumberlands and Eastern Kentucky University?
Before aid, Eastern Kentucky University costs about $23,735 a year and University of the Cumberlands about $25,567. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of the Cumberlands or Eastern Kentucky University?
Eastern Kentucky University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,591 there, against about $10,736 at University of the Cumberlands. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of the Cumberlands or Eastern Kentucky University?
Eastern Kentucky University is the larger of the two, with about 12,318 undergraduates against 6,941 at University of the Cumberlands.
Does University of the Cumberlands or Eastern Kentucky University have a better graduation rate?
Eastern Kentucky University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 48% at University of the Cumberlands.
Do graduates of University of the Cumberlands or Eastern Kentucky University earn more?
Eastern Kentucky University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,795 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,036 for University of the Cumberlands. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of the Cumberlands and Eastern Kentucky University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of the Cumberlands is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Eastern Kentucky University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of the Cumberlands and Eastern Kentucky University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1160 at University of the Cumberlands and 880–1080 at Eastern Kentucky University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school