Skip to content

University of the Incarnate Word vs Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online

University of the Incarnate Word is a private university in San Antonio, TX, and Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online is a private university in Addison, TX. University of the Incarnate Word is the more selective of the two, admitting about 98% of applicants against 100% at Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online. University of the Incarnate Word is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $22,775 a year against $23,698 at Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online. Ten years after enrolling, University of the Incarnate Word alumni earn a median of about $56,733, against $55,736 for Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online.

University of the Incarnate Word

San Antonio, TX · Private

Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online

Addison, TX · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
San Antonio, TX
Addison, TX
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
4,440
1,219
Acceptance rate
98%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
900–1140
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,775
$23,698
Full cost / yr
$48,681
$30,295
In-state tuition
$37,090
$14,520
Out-of-state tuition
$37,090
$14,520
Application fee
Not reported
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,260
$24,283
$30k - $48k
$19,487
$22,852
$48k - $75k
$21,950
$21,723
$75k - $110k
$25,084
$26,586
Over $110k
$31,539
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
Not reported
Freshman retention
71%
48%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,625
$46,727
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,733
$55,736
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$24,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
45%
71%
First-generation students
43%
24%
International students
3%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of the Incarnate Word or Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online harder to get into?
University of the Incarnate Word is harder to get into. It admits about 98% of applicants, compared with 100% at Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of the Incarnate Word or Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online?
University of the Incarnate Word is cheaper on average. Students pay about $22,775 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,698 at Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of the Incarnate Word and Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online?
Before aid, Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online costs about $30,295 a year and University of the Incarnate Word about $48,681. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of the Incarnate Word or Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online?
University of the Incarnate Word. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $19,260 there, against about $24,283 at Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of the Incarnate Word or Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online?
University of the Incarnate Word is the larger of the two, with about 4,440 undergraduates against 1,219 at Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online.
Do graduates of University of the Incarnate Word or Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online earn more?
University of the Incarnate Word alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,733 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,736 for Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of the Incarnate Word and Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online require SAT or ACT scores?
University of the Incarnate Word is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate Online is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school