Skip to content

University of the Incarnate Word vs Wiley University

University of the Incarnate Word is a private university in San Antonio, TX, and Wiley University is a private university in Marshall, TX. Wiley University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 97% of applicants against 98% at University of the Incarnate Word. Wiley University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $7,092 a year against $22,775 at University of the Incarnate Word. About 51% of students graduate at University of the Incarnate Word, compared with 22% at Wiley University. Ten years after enrolling, University of the Incarnate Word alumni earn a median of about $56,733, against $33,159 for Wiley University.

University of the Incarnate Word

San Antonio, TX · Private

Wiley University

Marshall, TX · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
San Antonio, TX
Marshall, TX
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
4,440
712
Acceptance rate
98%
97%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.02–3.52
SAT (middle 50%)
900–1140
640–1020
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,775
$7,092
Full cost / yr
$48,681
$19,097
In-state tuition
$37,090
$12,500
Out-of-state tuition
$37,090
$12,500
Application fee
Not reported
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,260
$6,137
$30k - $48k
$19,487
$6,098
$48k - $75k
$21,950
$8,776
$75k - $110k
$25,084
$12,251
Over $110k
$31,539
$14,097
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
22%
Freshman retention
71%
50%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,625
$28,078
Median earnings (10 yr)
$56,733
$33,159
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$24,989
Student body
Pell grant recipients
45%
79%
First-generation students
43%
42%
International students
3%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of the Incarnate Word or Wiley University harder to get into?
Wiley University is harder to get into. It admits about 97% of applicants, compared with 98% at University of the Incarnate Word. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of the Incarnate Word or Wiley University?
Wiley University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,092 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,775 at University of the Incarnate Word. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of the Incarnate Word and Wiley University?
Before aid, Wiley University costs about $19,097 a year and University of the Incarnate Word about $48,681. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of the Incarnate Word or Wiley University?
Wiley University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,137 there, against about $19,260 at University of the Incarnate Word. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of the Incarnate Word or Wiley University?
University of the Incarnate Word is the larger of the two, with about 4,440 undergraduates against 712 at Wiley University.
Does University of the Incarnate Word or Wiley University have a better graduation rate?
University of the Incarnate Word has the higher graduation rate, at about 51% against 22% at Wiley University.
Do graduates of University of the Incarnate Word or Wiley University earn more?
University of the Incarnate Word alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,733 ten years after enrolling, against about $33,159 for Wiley University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of the Incarnate Word and Wiley University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of the Incarnate Word is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Wiley University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of the Incarnate Word and Wiley University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 900–1140 at University of the Incarnate Word and 640–1020 at Wiley University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school