Skip to content

University of the Ozarks vs Philander Smith University

University of the Ozarks is a private university in Clarksville, AR, and Philander Smith University is a private university in Little Rock, AR. Philander Smith University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,224 a year against $17,360 at University of the Ozarks. About 52% of students graduate at University of the Ozarks, compared with 31% at Philander Smith University. Ten years after enrolling, University of the Ozarks alumni earn a median of about $44,384, against $38,427 for Philander Smith University.

University of the Ozarks

Clarksville, AR · Private

Philander Smith University

Little Rock, AR · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Clarksville, AR
Little Rock, AR
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
767
751
Acceptance rate
60%
Not reported
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
Not reported
SAT (middle 50%)
1020–1160
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
20–25
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,360
$14,224
Full cost / yr
$38,666
$28,136
In-state tuition
$25,950
$13,014
Out-of-state tuition
$25,950
$13,014
Application fee
Not reported
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$14,664
$13,393
$30k - $48k
$14,551
$14,606
$48k - $75k
$19,291
$16,686
$75k - $110k
$18,632
$12,847
Over $110k
$22,836
$15,800
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
31%
Freshman retention
69%
66%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,651
$25,254
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,384
$38,427
Median debt at graduation
$20,875
$24,736
Student body
Pell grant recipients
40%
68%
First-generation students
35%
43%
International students
28%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, University of the Ozarks or Philander Smith University?
Philander Smith University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,224 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,360 at University of the Ozarks. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of the Ozarks and Philander Smith University?
Before aid, Philander Smith University costs about $28,136 a year and University of the Ozarks about $38,666. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of the Ozarks or Philander Smith University?
Philander Smith University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,393 there, against about $14,664 at University of the Ozarks. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of the Ozarks or Philander Smith University?
University of the Ozarks is the larger of the two, with about 767 undergraduates against 751 at Philander Smith University.
Does University of the Ozarks or Philander Smith University have a better graduation rate?
University of the Ozarks has the higher graduation rate, at about 52% against 31% at Philander Smith University.
Do graduates of University of the Ozarks or Philander Smith University earn more?
University of the Ozarks alumni earn more on average: a median of about $44,384 ten years after enrolling, against about $38,427 for Philander Smith University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school