Skip to content

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee vs University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee is a public university in Milwaukee, WI. University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point is a public university in Stevens Point, WI. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee admits about 91% of applicants and University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point about 92%, making University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,559 a year at University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point after aid, and about $15,014 at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. About 53% of students graduate at University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, compared with 50% at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Ten years after enrolling, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee alumni earn a median of about $54,990, against $52,021 for University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Milwaukee, WI · Public

University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

Stevens Point, WI · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Milwaukee, WI
Stevens Point, WI
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
16,758
7,306
Acceptance rate
91%
92%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.25–3.75
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
1040–1290
ACT (middle 50%)
18–25
20–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,014
$14,559
Full cost / yr
$22,756
$20,079
In-state tuition
$10,398
$9,488
Out-of-state tuition
$22,398
$18,508
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,329
$8,833
$30k - $48k
$10,709
$9,609
$48k - $75k
$12,344
$11,428
$75k - $110k
$19,315
$17,042
Over $110k
$21,477
$18,737
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
53%
Freshman retention
73%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,851
$43,371
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,990
$52,021
Median debt at graduation
$23,000
$21,503
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
29%
First-generation students
33%
31%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee or University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point harder to get into?
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee is harder to get into. It admits about 91% of applicants, compared with 92% at University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee or University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point?
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,559 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,014 at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point?
Before aid, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point costs about $20,079 a year and University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee about $22,756. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee or University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point?
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,833 there, against about $10,329 at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee or University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point?
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee is the larger of the two, with about 16,758 undergraduates against 7,306 at University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.
Does University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee or University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point have a better graduation rate?
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point has the higher graduation rate, at about 53% against 50% at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
Do graduates of University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee or University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point earn more?
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,990 ten years after enrolling, against about $52,021 for University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school