Skip to content

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater vs University of Wisconsin-Platteville

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater is a public university in Whitewater, WI. University of Wisconsin-Platteville is a public university in Platteville, WI. University of Wisconsin-Whitewater admits about 86% of applicants and University of Wisconsin-Platteville about 89%, making University of Wisconsin-Whitewater the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,158 a year at University of Wisconsin-Whitewater after aid, and about $16,032 at University of Wisconsin-Platteville. About 62% of students graduate at University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, compared with 58% at University of Wisconsin-Platteville. Ten years after enrolling, University of Wisconsin-Platteville alumni earn a median of about $61,760, against $55,356 for University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Whitewater, WI · Public

University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Platteville, WI · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Whitewater, WI
Platteville, WI
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
9,405
5,837
Acceptance rate
86%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–3.8
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
950–1150
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
21–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,158
$16,032
Full cost / yr
$18,719
$21,266
In-state tuition
$8,616
$8,644
Out-of-state tuition
$18,716
$17,603
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,440
$9,009
$30k - $48k
$8,752
$10,459
$48k - $75k
$11,176
$12,065
$75k - $110k
$16,551
$17,984
Over $110k
$18,229
$20,245
Outcomes
Graduation rate
62%
58%
Freshman retention
78%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,909
$54,825
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,356
$61,760
Median debt at graduation
$23,188
$21,977
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
21%
First-generation students
30%
29%
International students
0%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Wisconsin-Whitewater or University of Wisconsin-Platteville harder to get into?
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater is harder to get into. It admits about 86% of applicants, compared with 89% at University of Wisconsin-Platteville. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater or University of Wisconsin-Platteville?
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,158 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $16,032 at University of Wisconsin-Platteville. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and University of Wisconsin-Platteville?
Before aid, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater costs about $18,719 a year and University of Wisconsin-Platteville about $21,266. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater or University of Wisconsin-Platteville?
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,440 there, against about $9,009 at University of Wisconsin-Platteville. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater or University of Wisconsin-Platteville?
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater is the larger of the two, with about 9,405 undergraduates against 5,837 at University of Wisconsin-Platteville.
Does University of Wisconsin-Whitewater or University of Wisconsin-Platteville have a better graduation rate?
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 58% at University of Wisconsin-Platteville.
Do graduates of University of Wisconsin-Whitewater or University of Wisconsin-Platteville earn more?
University of Wisconsin-Platteville alumni earn more on average: a median of about $61,760 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,356 for University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and University of Wisconsin-Platteville require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Wisconsin-Platteville is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school