Skip to content

Williams Baptist University vs Southern Arkansas University Main Campus

Williams Baptist University is a private university in Walnut Ridge, AR, and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is a public university in Magnolia, AR. Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is the more selective of the two, admitting about 75% of applicants against 83% at Williams Baptist University. Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,027 a year against $15,745 at Williams Baptist University. About 48% of students graduate at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus, compared with 31% at Williams Baptist University. Ten years after enrolling, Southern Arkansas University Main Campus alumni earn a median of about $42,386, against $38,484 for Williams Baptist University.

Williams Baptist University

Walnut Ridge, AR · Private

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus

Magnolia, AR · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Walnut Ridge, AR
Magnolia, AR
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
478
2,708
Acceptance rate
83%
75%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.26–3.76
3.29–3.79
SAT (middle 50%)
920–1058
875–1105
ACT (middle 50%)
16–21
17–24
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,745
$14,027
Full cost / yr
$33,597
$24,951
In-state tuition
$21,070
$9,960
Out-of-state tuition
$21,070
$15,690
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,733
$13,187
$30k - $48k
$19,044
$12,827
$48k - $75k
$15,655
$13,790
$75k - $110k
$15,195
$15,654
Over $110k
$24,028
$19,244
Outcomes
Graduation rate
31%
48%
Freshman retention
70%
66%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,067
$37,008
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,484
$42,386
Median debt at graduation
$21,820
$18,750
Student body
Pell grant recipients
54%
48%
First-generation students
32%
42%
International students
9%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Jan 15
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Williams Baptist University or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus harder to get into?
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is harder to get into. It admits about 75% of applicants, compared with 83% at Williams Baptist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Williams Baptist University or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus?
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,027 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,745 at Williams Baptist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Williams Baptist University and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus?
Before aid, Southern Arkansas University Main Campus costs about $24,951 a year and Williams Baptist University about $33,597. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Williams Baptist University or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus?
Williams Baptist University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,733 there, against about $13,187 at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Williams Baptist University or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus?
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is the larger of the two, with about 2,708 undergraduates against 478 at Williams Baptist University.
Does Williams Baptist University or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus have a better graduation rate?
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus has the higher graduation rate, at about 48% against 31% at Williams Baptist University.
Do graduates of Williams Baptist University or Southern Arkansas University Main Campus earn more?
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $42,386 ten years after enrolling, against about $38,484 for Williams Baptist University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Williams Baptist University and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus require SAT or ACT scores?
Williams Baptist University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Southern Arkansas University Main Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Williams Baptist University and Southern Arkansas University Main Campus look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 920–1058 at Williams Baptist University and 875–1105 at Southern Arkansas University Main Campus. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school