Skip to content

Arkansas State University vs Henderson State University

Arkansas State University is a public university in Jonesboro, AR. Henderson State University is a public university in Arkadelphia, AR. Both admit about 82% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $12,366 a year at Arkansas State University after aid, and about $23,405 at Henderson State University. About 55% of students graduate at Arkansas State University, compared with 38% at Henderson State University. Ten years after enrolling, Henderson State University alumni earn a median of about $43,459, against $42,617 for Arkansas State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Arkansas State University

Jonesboro, AR · Public

Henderson State University

Arkadelphia, AR · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Jonesboro, AR
Arkadelphia, AR
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
9,110
1,456
Acceptance rate
82%
82%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.27–3.77
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1190
903–1073
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
16–21
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,366
$23,405
Full cost / yr
$25,082
$27,385
In-state tuition
$8,090
$8,244
Out-of-state tuition
$14,522
$10,620
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,098
$23,386
$30k - $48k
$9,255
$23,208
$48k - $75k
$12,205
$25,051
$75k - $110k
$15,839
Not reported
Over $110k
$16,444
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
38%
Freshman retention
78%
62%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,944
$35,194
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,617
$43,459
Median debt at graduation
$20,500
$19,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
38%
46%
First-generation students
39%
38%
International students
10%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 15

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Arkansas State University or Henderson State University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 82% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Arkansas State University or Henderson State University?
Arkansas State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,366 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,405 at Henderson State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Arkansas State University and Henderson State University?
Before aid, Arkansas State University costs about $25,082 a year and Henderson State University about $27,385. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Arkansas State University or Henderson State University?
Arkansas State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,098 there, against about $23,386 at Henderson State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Arkansas State University or Henderson State University?
Arkansas State University is the larger of the two, with about 9,110 undergraduates against 1,456 at Henderson State University.
Does Arkansas State University or Henderson State University have a better graduation rate?
Arkansas State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 55% against 38% at Henderson State University.
Do graduates of Arkansas State University or Henderson State University earn more?
Henderson State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $43,459 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,617 for Arkansas State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Arkansas State University and Henderson State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Arkansas State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Henderson State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Arkansas State University and Henderson State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1190 at Arkansas State University and 903–1073 at Henderson State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school