Skip to content

Ave Maria University vs South University-Tampa

Ave Maria University is a private university in Ave Maria, FL, and South University-Tampa is a private for-profit university in Tampa, FL. South University-Tampa is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $20,434 a year against $24,860 at Ave Maria University. About 55% of students graduate at Ave Maria University, compared with 15% at South University-Tampa. Ten years after enrolling, Ave Maria University alumni earn a median of about $49,520, against $34,421 for South University-Tampa.

Ave Maria University

Ave Maria, FL · Private

South University-Tampa

Tampa, FL · Private (for-profit)
At a glance
Type
Private
Private (for-profit)
Location
Ave Maria, FL
Tampa, FL
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
1,298
388
Acceptance rate
41%
Not reported
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–4
Not reported
SAT (middle 50%)
1018–1240
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
21–28
Not reported
Test policy
Required
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,860
$20,434
Full cost / yr
$46,129
$30,414
In-state tuition
$30,198
$18,145
Out-of-state tuition
$30,198
$18,145
Application fee
$10
$75
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$18,761
$20,347
$30k - $48k
$20,840
$19,364
$48k - $75k
$23,790
$20,759
$75k - $110k
$24,088
$22,442
Over $110k
$27,107
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
15%
Freshman retention
79%
50%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,572
$34,115
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,520
$34,421
Median debt at graduation
$20,776
$26,123
Student body
Pell grant recipients
21%
49%
First-generation students
18%
47%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 26
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Ave Maria University or South University-Tampa?
South University-Tampa is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,434 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,860 at Ave Maria University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Ave Maria University and South University-Tampa?
Before aid, South University-Tampa costs about $30,414 a year and Ave Maria University about $46,129. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Ave Maria University or South University-Tampa?
Ave Maria University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,761 there, against about $20,347 at South University-Tampa. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Ave Maria University or South University-Tampa?
Ave Maria University is the larger of the two, with about 1,298 undergraduates against 388 at South University-Tampa.
Does Ave Maria University or South University-Tampa have a better graduation rate?
Ave Maria University has the higher graduation rate, at about 55% against 15% at South University-Tampa.
Do graduates of Ave Maria University or South University-Tampa earn more?
Ave Maria University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,520 ten years after enrolling, against about $34,421 for South University-Tampa. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school