Skip to content

Baker College vs Grand Valley State University

Baker College is a private college in Owosso, MI. Grand Valley State University is a public university in Allendale, MI. Baker College admits about 82% of applicants and Grand Valley State University about 83%, making Baker College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,157 a year at Baker College after aid, and about $16,317 at Grand Valley State University. About 68% of students graduate at Grand Valley State University, compared with 33% at Baker College. Ten years after enrolling, Grand Valley State University alumni earn a median of about $56,118, against $35,833 for Baker College.

Baker College

Owosso, MI · Private

Grand Valley State University

Allendale, MI · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Owosso, MI
Allendale, MI
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
3,026
18,854
Acceptance rate
82%
83%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.33–3.83
3.32–3.82
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1160
940–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
22–30
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,157
$16,317
Full cost / yr
$24,526
$28,367
In-state tuition
$13,000
$15,140
Out-of-state tuition
$13,000
$21,548
Application fee
$30
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,976
$12,272
$30k - $48k
$11,362
$11,902
$48k - $75k
$12,546
$12,861
$75k - $110k
$13,754
$16,609
Over $110k
$17,964
$22,534
Outcomes
Graduation rate
33%
68%
Freshman retention
66%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,619
$47,840
Median earnings (10 yr)
$35,833
$56,118
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$24,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
38%
29%
First-generation students
47%
27%
International students
0%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Mar 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Baker College or Grand Valley State University harder to get into?
Baker College is harder to get into. It admits about 82% of applicants, compared with 83% at Grand Valley State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Baker College or Grand Valley State University?
Baker College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,157 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $16,317 at Grand Valley State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Baker College and Grand Valley State University?
Before aid, Baker College costs about $24,526 a year and Grand Valley State University about $28,367. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Baker College or Grand Valley State University?
Baker College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,976 there, against about $12,272 at Grand Valley State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Baker College or Grand Valley State University?
Grand Valley State University is the larger of the two, with about 18,854 undergraduates against 3,026 at Baker College.
Does Baker College or Grand Valley State University have a better graduation rate?
Grand Valley State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 68% against 33% at Baker College.
Do graduates of Baker College or Grand Valley State University earn more?
Grand Valley State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,118 ten years after enrolling, against about $35,833 for Baker College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Baker College and Grand Valley State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Baker College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Grand Valley State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Baker College and Grand Valley State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1160 at Baker College and 940–1190 at Grand Valley State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school