Skip to content

Blue Mountain Christian University vs William Carey University

Blue Mountain Christian University is a private university in Blue Mountain, MS. William Carey University is a private university in Hattiesburg, MS. William Carey University admits about 60% of applicants and Blue Mountain Christian University about 89%, making William Carey University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,258 a year at William Carey University after aid, and about $24,016 at Blue Mountain Christian University. About 53% of students graduate at Blue Mountain Christian University, compared with 51% at William Carey University. Ten years after enrolling, William Carey University alumni earn a median of about $43,087, against $40,421 for Blue Mountain Christian University.

Blue Mountain Christian University

Blue Mountain, MS · Private

William Carey University

Hattiesburg, MS · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Blue Mountain, MS
Hattiesburg, MS
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
498
2,201
Acceptance rate
89%
60%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.24–3.74
3.46–3.96
SAT (middle 50%)
950–1070
1040–1290
ACT (middle 50%)
19–24
19–25
Test policy
Considered
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,016
$14,258
Full cost / yr
$33,197
$29,651
In-state tuition
$20,180
$15,480
Out-of-state tuition
$20,180
$15,480
Application fee
Not reported
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$23,112
$12,224
$30k - $48k
$23,791
$12,411
$48k - $75k
$24,721
$15,320
$75k - $110k
$26,722
$18,436
Over $110k
Not reported
$19,701
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
51%
Freshman retention
68%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,401
$37,639
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,421
$43,087
Median debt at graduation
$18,534
$20,832
Student body
Pell grant recipients
29%
27%
First-generation students
37%
36%
International students
2%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Blue Mountain Christian University or William Carey University harder to get into?
William Carey University is harder to get into. It admits about 60% of applicants, compared with 89% at Blue Mountain Christian University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Blue Mountain Christian University or William Carey University?
William Carey University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,258 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,016 at Blue Mountain Christian University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Blue Mountain Christian University and William Carey University?
Before aid, William Carey University costs about $29,651 a year and Blue Mountain Christian University about $33,197. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Blue Mountain Christian University or William Carey University?
William Carey University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,224 there, against about $23,112 at Blue Mountain Christian University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Blue Mountain Christian University or William Carey University?
William Carey University is the larger of the two, with about 2,201 undergraduates against 498 at Blue Mountain Christian University.
Does Blue Mountain Christian University or William Carey University have a better graduation rate?
Blue Mountain Christian University has the higher graduation rate, at about 53% against 51% at William Carey University.
Do graduates of Blue Mountain Christian University or William Carey University earn more?
William Carey University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $43,087 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,421 for Blue Mountain Christian University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Blue Mountain Christian University and William Carey University require SAT or ACT scores?
Blue Mountain Christian University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. William Carey University requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do Blue Mountain Christian University and William Carey University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 950–1070 at Blue Mountain Christian University and 1040–1290 at William Carey University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school