Skip to content

Bluefield State University vs West Virginia State University

Bluefield State University is a public university in Bluefield, WV, and West Virginia State University is a public university in Institute, WV. West Virginia State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 96% of applicants against 97% at Bluefield State University. West Virginia State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $11,139 a year against $13,684 at Bluefield State University. About 36% of students graduate at both. Ten years after enrolling, West Virginia State University alumni earn a median of about $40,492, against $38,217 for Bluefield State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Bluefield State University

Bluefield, WV · Public

West Virginia State University

Institute, WV · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Bluefield, WV
Institute, WV
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,042
1,321
Acceptance rate
97%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.06–3.56
3.06–3.56
SAT (middle 50%)
870–1080
760–1040
ACT (middle 50%)
17–22
15–20
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,684
$11,139
Full cost / yr
$21,839
$19,772
In-state tuition
$10,648
$9,570
Out-of-state tuition
$18,376
$14,990
Application fee
Not reported
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,810
$9,457
$30k - $48k
$10,703
$10,225
$48k - $75k
$14,630
$10,703
$75k - $110k
$17,058
$13,798
Over $110k
$16,242
$17,355
Outcomes
Graduation rate
36%
36%
Freshman retention
55%
57%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,030
$32,849
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,217
$40,492
Median debt at graduation
$18,250
$23,338
Student body
Pell grant recipients
44%
20%
First-generation students
49%
43%
International students
0%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 25
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bluefield State University or West Virginia State University harder to get into?
West Virginia State University is harder to get into. It admits about 96% of applicants, compared with 97% at Bluefield State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bluefield State University or West Virginia State University?
West Virginia State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,139 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $13,684 at Bluefield State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bluefield State University and West Virginia State University?
Before aid, West Virginia State University costs about $19,772 a year and Bluefield State University about $21,839. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bluefield State University or West Virginia State University?
West Virginia State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,457 there, against about $11,810 at Bluefield State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bluefield State University or West Virginia State University?
West Virginia State University is the larger of the two, with about 1,321 undergraduates against 1,042 at Bluefield State University.
Does Bluefield State University or West Virginia State University have a better graduation rate?
Both graduate about 36% of their students.
Do graduates of Bluefield State University or West Virginia State University earn more?
West Virginia State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $40,492 ten years after enrolling, against about $38,217 for Bluefield State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bluefield State University and West Virginia State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Bluefield State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. West Virginia State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Bluefield State University and West Virginia State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 870–1080 at Bluefield State University and 760–1040 at West Virginia State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school