Skip to content

Concord University vs West Virginia State University

Concord University is a public university in Athens, WV. West Virginia State University is a public university in Institute, WV. Concord University admits about 93% of applicants and West Virginia State University about 96%, making Concord University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $9,966 a year at Concord University after aid, and about $11,139 at West Virginia State University. About 41% of students graduate at Concord University, compared with 36% at West Virginia State University. Ten years after enrolling, Concord University alumni earn a median of about $42,703, against $40,492 for West Virginia State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Concord University

Athens, WV · Public

West Virginia State University

Institute, WV · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Athens, WV
Institute, WV
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,504
1,321
Acceptance rate
93%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.11–3.61
3.06–3.56
SAT (middle 50%)
830–1090
760–1040
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
15–20
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$9,966
$11,139
Full cost / yr
$20,434
$19,772
In-state tuition
$10,664
$9,570
Out-of-state tuition
$22,000
$14,990
Application fee
$0
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,021
$9,457
$30k - $48k
$6,930
$10,225
$48k - $75k
$10,438
$10,703
$75k - $110k
$13,336
$13,798
Over $110k
$15,472
$17,355
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
36%
Freshman retention
65%
57%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,094
$32,849
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,703
$40,492
Median debt at graduation
$18,900
$23,338
Student body
Pell grant recipients
50%
20%
First-generation students
48%
43%
International students
4%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Concord University or West Virginia State University harder to get into?
Concord University is harder to get into. It admits about 93% of applicants, compared with 96% at West Virginia State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Concord University or West Virginia State University?
Concord University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,966 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $11,139 at West Virginia State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Concord University and West Virginia State University?
Before aid, West Virginia State University costs about $19,772 a year and Concord University about $20,434. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Concord University or West Virginia State University?
Concord University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,021 there, against about $9,457 at West Virginia State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Concord University or West Virginia State University?
Concord University is the larger of the two, with about 1,504 undergraduates against 1,321 at West Virginia State University.
Does Concord University or West Virginia State University have a better graduation rate?
Concord University has the higher graduation rate, at about 41% against 36% at West Virginia State University.
Do graduates of Concord University or West Virginia State University earn more?
Concord University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $42,703 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,492 for West Virginia State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Concord University and West Virginia State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Concord University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. West Virginia State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Concord University and West Virginia State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 830–1090 at Concord University and 760–1040 at West Virginia State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school