Skip to content

Briar Cliff University vs Central College

Briar Cliff University is a private university in Sioux City, IA, and Central College is a private college in Pella, IA. Central College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $23,377 a year against $23,907 at Briar Cliff University. About 68% of students graduate at Central College, compared with 48% at Briar Cliff University. Ten years after enrolling, Briar Cliff University alumni earn a median of about $54,475, against $54,317 for Central College.

Briar Cliff University

Sioux City, IA · Private

Central College

Pella, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Sioux City, IA
Pella, IA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
624
1,070
Acceptance rate
Not reported
86%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
Not reported
3.29–3.79
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
1056–1120
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
20–26
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,907
$23,377
Full cost / yr
$51,493
$37,773
In-state tuition
$36,956
$20,988
Out-of-state tuition
$36,956
$20,988
Application fee
$0
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,764
$16,231
$30k - $48k
$14,604
$16,237
$48k - $75k
$25,516
$19,532
$75k - $110k
$30,156
$21,936
Over $110k
$27,328
$27,165
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
68%
Freshman retention
64%
80%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,338
$49,115
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,475
$54,317
Median debt at graduation
$23,250
$26,984
Student body
Pell grant recipients
53%
22%
First-generation students
36%
21%
International students
13%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Briar Cliff University or Central College?
Central College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $23,377 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,907 at Briar Cliff University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Briar Cliff University and Central College?
Before aid, Central College costs about $37,773 a year and Briar Cliff University about $51,493. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Briar Cliff University or Central College?
Central College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,231 there, against about $17,764 at Briar Cliff University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Briar Cliff University or Central College?
Central College is the larger of the two, with about 1,070 undergraduates against 624 at Briar Cliff University.
Does Briar Cliff University or Central College have a better graduation rate?
Central College has the higher graduation rate, at about 68% against 48% at Briar Cliff University.
Do graduates of Briar Cliff University or Central College earn more?
Briar Cliff University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,475 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,317 for Central College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Briar Cliff University and Central College require SAT or ACT scores?
Briar Cliff University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Central College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school