Skip to content

Calvary University vs Rockhurst University

Calvary University is a private university in Kansas City, MO, and Rockhurst University is a private university in Kansas City, MO. Rockhurst University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 70% of applicants against 72% at Calvary University. Calvary University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $16,334 a year against $25,884 at Rockhurst University. About 75% of students graduate at Rockhurst University, compared with 52% at Calvary University. Ten years after enrolling, Rockhurst University alumni earn a median of about $67,102, against $45,421 for Calvary University.

Calvary University

Kansas City, MO · Private

Rockhurst University

Kansas City, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
154
1,580
Acceptance rate
72%
70%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–3.86
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
980–1140
1116–1246
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
19–26
Test policy
Required
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,334
$25,884
Full cost / yr
$23,938
$59,898
In-state tuition
$14,094
$44,966
Out-of-state tuition
$14,094
$44,966
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,764
$22,797
$30k - $48k
$15,734
$19,895
$48k - $75k
$21,115
$21,997
$75k - $110k
$16,666
$26,522
Over $110k
$13,749
$30,348
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
75%
Freshman retention
55%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,144
$61,371
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,421
$67,102
Median debt at graduation
$20,839
$18,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
31%
20%
First-generation students
35%
21%
International students
1%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 28

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Calvary University or Rockhurst University harder to get into?
Rockhurst University is harder to get into. It admits about 70% of applicants, compared with 72% at Calvary University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Calvary University or Rockhurst University?
Calvary University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,334 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,884 at Rockhurst University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Calvary University and Rockhurst University?
Before aid, Calvary University costs about $23,938 a year and Rockhurst University about $59,898. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Calvary University or Rockhurst University?
Calvary University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,764 there, against about $22,797 at Rockhurst University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Calvary University or Rockhurst University?
Rockhurst University is the larger of the two, with about 1,580 undergraduates against 154 at Calvary University.
Does Calvary University or Rockhurst University have a better graduation rate?
Rockhurst University has the higher graduation rate, at about 75% against 52% at Calvary University.
Do graduates of Calvary University or Rockhurst University earn more?
Rockhurst University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $67,102 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,421 for Calvary University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Calvary University and Rockhurst University require SAT or ACT scores?
Calvary University requires SAT or ACT scores. Rockhurst University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Calvary University and Rockhurst University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 980–1140 at Calvary University and 1116–1246 at Rockhurst University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school