Skip to content

Calvary University vs Southwest Baptist University

Calvary University is a private university in Kansas City, MO. Southwest Baptist University is a private university in Bolivar, MO. Southwest Baptist University admits about 68% of applicants and Calvary University about 72%, making Southwest Baptist University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $16,334 a year at Calvary University after aid, and about $21,677 at Southwest Baptist University. About 53% of students graduate at Southwest Baptist University, compared with 52% at Calvary University. Ten years after enrolling, Calvary University alumni earn a median of about $45,421, against $43,112 for Southwest Baptist University.

Calvary University

Kansas City, MO · Private

Southwest Baptist University

Bolivar, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Kansas City, MO
Bolivar, MO
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
154
1,341
Acceptance rate
72%
68%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–3.86
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
980–1140
810–1210
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
17–26
Test policy
Required
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,334
$21,677
Full cost / yr
$23,938
$40,301
In-state tuition
$14,094
$30,566
Out-of-state tuition
$14,094
$30,566
Application fee
Not reported
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,764
$21,978
$30k - $48k
$15,734
$17,947
$48k - $75k
$21,115
$19,633
$75k - $110k
$16,666
$22,016
Over $110k
$13,749
$23,857
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
53%
Freshman retention
55%
65%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,144
$38,855
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,421
$43,112
Median debt at graduation
$20,839
$20,957
Student body
Pell grant recipients
31%
36%
First-generation students
35%
35%
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Calvary University or Southwest Baptist University harder to get into?
Southwest Baptist University is harder to get into. It admits about 68% of applicants, compared with 72% at Calvary University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Calvary University or Southwest Baptist University?
Calvary University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,334 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,677 at Southwest Baptist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Calvary University and Southwest Baptist University?
Before aid, Calvary University costs about $23,938 a year and Southwest Baptist University about $40,301. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Calvary University or Southwest Baptist University?
Calvary University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,764 there, against about $21,978 at Southwest Baptist University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Calvary University or Southwest Baptist University?
Southwest Baptist University is the larger of the two, with about 1,341 undergraduates against 154 at Calvary University.
Does Calvary University or Southwest Baptist University have a better graduation rate?
Southwest Baptist University has the higher graduation rate, at about 53% against 52% at Calvary University.
Do graduates of Calvary University or Southwest Baptist University earn more?
Calvary University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,421 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,112 for Southwest Baptist University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Calvary University and Southwest Baptist University require SAT or ACT scores?
Calvary University requires SAT or ACT scores. Southwest Baptist University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Calvary University and Southwest Baptist University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 980–1140 at Calvary University and 810–1210 at Southwest Baptist University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school