Skip to content

Capitol Technology University vs Maryland Institute College of Art

Capitol Technology University is a private university in Laurel, MD, and Maryland Institute College of Art is a private college in Baltimore, MD. Capitol Technology University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 74% of applicants against 77% at Maryland Institute College of Art. Capitol Technology University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $22,102 a year against $42,729 at Maryland Institute College of Art. About 72% of students graduate at Maryland Institute College of Art, compared with 44% at Capitol Technology University. Ten years after enrolling, Capitol Technology University alumni earn a median of about $85,035, against $45,212 for Maryland Institute College of Art.

Capitol Technology University

Laurel, MD · Private

Maryland Institute College of Art

Baltimore, MD · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Laurel, MD
Baltimore, MD
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
315
1,189
Acceptance rate
74%
77%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.41–3.91
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
1020–1230
1078–1305
ACT (middle 50%)
19–25
25–33
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,102
$42,729
Full cost / yr
$42,471
$76,860
In-state tuition
$27,592
$56,800
Out-of-state tuition
$27,592
$56,800
Application fee
$25
$70
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,682
$32,389
$30k - $48k
$17,134
$35,223
$48k - $75k
$15,161
$45,071
$75k - $110k
$27,961
$45,906
Over $110k
$25,778
$50,918
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
72%
Freshman retention
77%
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$76,545
$33,451
Median earnings (10 yr)
$85,035
$45,212
Median debt at graduation
$20,264
$26,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
23%
First-generation students
36%
17%
International students
3%
19%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Capitol Technology University or Maryland Institute College of Art harder to get into?
Capitol Technology University is harder to get into. It admits about 74% of applicants, compared with 77% at Maryland Institute College of Art. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Capitol Technology University or Maryland Institute College of Art?
Capitol Technology University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $22,102 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $42,729 at Maryland Institute College of Art. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Capitol Technology University and Maryland Institute College of Art?
Before aid, Capitol Technology University costs about $42,471 a year and Maryland Institute College of Art about $76,860. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Capitol Technology University or Maryland Institute College of Art?
Capitol Technology University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $19,682 there, against about $32,389 at Maryland Institute College of Art. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Capitol Technology University or Maryland Institute College of Art?
Maryland Institute College of Art is the larger of the two, with about 1,189 undergraduates against 315 at Capitol Technology University.
Does Capitol Technology University or Maryland Institute College of Art have a better graduation rate?
Maryland Institute College of Art has the higher graduation rate, at about 72% against 44% at Capitol Technology University.
Do graduates of Capitol Technology University or Maryland Institute College of Art earn more?
Capitol Technology University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $85,035 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,212 for Maryland Institute College of Art. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Capitol Technology University and Maryland Institute College of Art require SAT or ACT scores?
Capitol Technology University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Maryland Institute College of Art is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Capitol Technology University and Maryland Institute College of Art look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1020–1230 at Capitol Technology University and 1078–1305 at Maryland Institute College of Art. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school