Skip to content

Central College vs Iowa State University

Central College is a private college in Pella, IA. Iowa State University is a public university in Ames, IA. Central College admits about 86% of applicants and Iowa State University about 89%, making Central College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $18,589 a year at Iowa State University after aid, and about $23,377 at Central College. About 75% of students graduate at Iowa State University, compared with 68% at Central College. Ten years after enrolling, Iowa State University alumni earn a median of about $63,386, against $54,317 for Central College.

Central College

Pella, IA · Private

Iowa State University

Ames, IA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Pella, IA
Ames, IA
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,070
25,367
Acceptance rate
86%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.29–3.79
~3.76 avg
SAT (middle 50%)
1056–1120
1120–1360
ACT (middle 50%)
20–26
21–28
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,377
$18,589
Full cost / yr
$37,773
$24,018
In-state tuition
$20,988
$10,787
Out-of-state tuition
$20,988
$28,881
Application fee
$25
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,231
$10,582
$30k - $48k
$16,237
$11,506
$48k - $75k
$19,532
$15,463
$75k - $110k
$21,936
$19,605
Over $110k
$27,165
$22,496
Outcomes
Graduation rate
68%
75%
Freshman retention
80%
88%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,115
$53,873
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,317
$63,386
Median debt at graduation
$26,984
$22,869
Student body
Pell grant recipients
22%
19%
First-generation students
21%
20%
International students
0%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Central College or Iowa State University harder to get into?
Central College is harder to get into. It admits about 86% of applicants, compared with 89% at Iowa State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Central College or Iowa State University?
Iowa State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,589 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,377 at Central College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Central College and Iowa State University?
Before aid, Iowa State University costs about $24,018 a year and Central College about $37,773. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Central College or Iowa State University?
Iowa State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,582 there, against about $16,231 at Central College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Central College or Iowa State University?
Iowa State University is the larger of the two, with about 25,367 undergraduates against 1,070 at Central College.
Does Central College or Iowa State University have a better graduation rate?
Iowa State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 75% against 68% at Central College.
Do graduates of Central College or Iowa State University earn more?
Iowa State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,386 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,317 for Central College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Central College and Iowa State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Central College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Iowa State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Central College and Iowa State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1056–1120 at Central College and 1120–1360 at Iowa State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school