Skip to content

Central College vs Northwestern College

Central College is a private college in Pella, IA. Northwestern College is a private college in Orange City, IA. Northwestern College admits about 80% of applicants and Central College about 86%, making Northwestern College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $23,377 a year at Central College after aid, and about $25,907 at Northwestern College. About 68% of students graduate at Central College, compared with 65% at Northwestern College. Ten years after enrolling, Central College alumni earn a median of about $54,317, against $49,802 for Northwestern College.

Central College

Pella, IA · Private

Northwestern College

Orange City, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Pella, IA
Orange City, IA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,070
1,175
Acceptance rate
86%
80%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.29–3.79
3.33–3.83
SAT (middle 50%)
1056–1120
940–1240
ACT (middle 50%)
20–26
20–27
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,377
$25,907
Full cost / yr
$37,773
$49,783
In-state tuition
$20,988
$36,710
Out-of-state tuition
$20,988
$36,710
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,231
$27,059
$30k - $48k
$16,237
$19,503
$48k - $75k
$19,532
$20,572
$75k - $110k
$21,936
$24,265
Over $110k
$27,165
$29,539
Outcomes
Graduation rate
68%
65%
Freshman retention
80%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,115
$46,731
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,317
$49,802
Median debt at graduation
$26,984
$23,249
Student body
Pell grant recipients
22%
25%
First-generation students
21%
13%
International students
0%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Central College or Northwestern College harder to get into?
Northwestern College is harder to get into. It admits about 80% of applicants, compared with 86% at Central College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Central College or Northwestern College?
Central College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $23,377 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,907 at Northwestern College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Central College and Northwestern College?
Before aid, Central College costs about $37,773 a year and Northwestern College about $49,783. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Central College or Northwestern College?
Central College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,231 there, against about $27,059 at Northwestern College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Central College or Northwestern College?
Northwestern College is the larger of the two, with about 1,175 undergraduates against 1,070 at Central College.
Does Central College or Northwestern College have a better graduation rate?
Central College has the higher graduation rate, at about 68% against 65% at Northwestern College.
Do graduates of Central College or Northwestern College earn more?
Central College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,317 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,802 for Northwestern College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Central College and Northwestern College require SAT or ACT scores?
Central College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Northwestern College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Central College and Northwestern College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1056–1120 at Central College and 940–1240 at Northwestern College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school