Skip to content

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences vs Columbia College

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is a private college in Fayette, MO, and Columbia College is a private college in Columbia, MO. Columbia College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 5% of applicants against 57% at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Columbia College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $22,715 a year against $22,766 at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. About 52% of students graduate at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, compared with 44% at Columbia College. Ten years after enrolling, Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences alumni earn a median of about $48,991, against $45,378 for Columbia College.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Fayette, MO · Private

Columbia College

Columbia, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Fayette, MO
Columbia, MO
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
1,040
4,950
Acceptance rate
57%
5%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.55–4
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1045
1510–1560
ACT (middle 50%)
17–23
34–36
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,766
$22,715
Full cost / yr
$43,635
$37,207
In-state tuition
$28,260
$25,826
Out-of-state tuition
$28,260
$25,826
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$20,260
$23,967
$30k - $48k
$18,894
$21,168
$48k - $75k
$20,680
$21,550
$75k - $110k
$23,883
$23,015
Over $110k
$27,411
$21,545
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
44%
Freshman retention
62%
75%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,860
$40,747
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,991
$45,378
Median debt at graduation
$17,619
$23,879
Student body
Pell grant recipients
40%
45%
First-generation students
44%
49%
International students
9%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 15
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences or Columbia College harder to get into?
Columbia College is harder to get into. It admits about 5% of applicants, compared with 57% at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences or Columbia College?
Columbia College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $22,715 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,766 at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Columbia College?
Before aid, Columbia College costs about $37,207 a year and Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences about $43,635. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences or Columbia College?
Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $20,260 there, against about $23,967 at Columbia College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences or Columbia College?
Columbia College is the larger of the two, with about 4,950 undergraduates against 1,040 at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
Does Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences or Columbia College have a better graduation rate?
Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences has the higher graduation rate, at about 52% against 44% at Columbia College.
Do graduates of Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences or Columbia College earn more?
Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences alumni earn more on average: a median of about $48,991 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,378 for Columbia College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Columbia College require SAT or ACT scores?
Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Columbia College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Columbia College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1045 at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and 1510–1560 at Columbia College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school