Skip to content

Central Penn College vs Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley

Central Penn College is a private for-profit college in Summerdale, PA. Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley is a public university in Center Valley, PA. Central Penn College admits about 18% of applicants and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley about 97%, making Central Penn College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $18,220 a year at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley after aid, and about $18,953 at Central Penn College. About 43% of students graduate at Central Penn College, compared with 18% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley. Ten years after enrolling, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley alumni earn a median of about $63,435, against $45,370 for Central Penn College.

Central Penn College

Summerdale, PA · Private (for-profit)

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley

Center Valley, PA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private (for-profit)
Public
Location
Summerdale, PA
Center Valley, PA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
662
859
Acceptance rate
18%
97%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.5–4
3.23–3.73
SAT (middle 50%)
660–910
1130–1320
ACT (middle 50%)
13–17
20–28
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,953
$18,220
Full cost / yr
$27,116
$28,109
In-state tuition
$19,854
$15,208
Out-of-state tuition
$19,854
$25,392
Application fee
Not reported
$65
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,859
$12,422
$30k - $48k
$19,164
$13,319
$48k - $75k
$17,011
$16,438
$75k - $110k
$18,973
$23,611
Over $110k
$23,656
$24,539
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
18%
Freshman retention
65%
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,798
$55,620
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,370
$63,435
Median debt at graduation
$23,194
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
49%
35%
First-generation students
51%
29%
International students
4%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Central Penn College or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley harder to get into?
Central Penn College is harder to get into. It admits about 18% of applicants, compared with 97% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Central Penn College or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,220 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,953 at Central Penn College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Central Penn College and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley?
Before aid, Central Penn College costs about $27,116 a year and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley about $28,109. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Central Penn College or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,422 there, against about $15,859 at Central Penn College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Central Penn College or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley is the larger of the two, with about 859 undergraduates against 662 at Central Penn College.
Does Central Penn College or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley have a better graduation rate?
Central Penn College has the higher graduation rate, at about 43% against 18% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley.
Do graduates of Central Penn College or Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley earn more?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,435 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,370 for Central Penn College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Central Penn College and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley require SAT or ACT scores?
Central Penn College is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Central Penn College and Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 660–910 at Central Penn College and 1130–1320 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school