Skip to content

Chestnut Hill College vs Curtis Institute of Music

Chestnut Hill College is a private college in Philadelphia, PA, and Curtis Institute of Music is a private institute in Philadelphia, PA. Curtis Institute of Music is the more selective of the two, admitting about 5% of applicants against 74% at Chestnut Hill College. About 96% of students graduate at Curtis Institute of Music, compared with 53% at Chestnut Hill College.

Chestnut Hill College

Philadelphia, PA · Private

Curtis Institute of Music

Philadelphia, PA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
815
109
Acceptance rate
74%
5%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.29–3.79
3.55–4
SAT (middle 50%)
900–1090
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
16–20
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$27,970
Not reported
Full cost / yr
$58,168
Not reported
In-state tuition
$39,870
$0
Out-of-state tuition
$39,870
$0
Application fee
$35
$150
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$28,011
Not reported
$30k - $48k
$24,447
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$22,714
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$28,168
Not reported
Over $110k
$33,175
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
96%
Freshman retention
62%
100%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,221
$31,201
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,015
Not reported
Median debt at graduation
$26,389
Not reported
Student body
Pell grant recipients
52%
1%
First-generation students
44%
Not reported
International students
3%
46%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Dec 10

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Chestnut Hill College or Curtis Institute of Music harder to get into?
Curtis Institute of Music is harder to get into. It admits about 5% of applicants, compared with 74% at Chestnut Hill College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is bigger, Chestnut Hill College or Curtis Institute of Music?
Chestnut Hill College is the larger of the two, with about 815 undergraduates against 109 at Curtis Institute of Music.
Does Chestnut Hill College or Curtis Institute of Music have a better graduation rate?
Curtis Institute of Music has the higher graduation rate, at about 96% against 53% at Chestnut Hill College.
Do Chestnut Hill College and Curtis Institute of Music require SAT or ACT scores?
Chestnut Hill College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Curtis Institute of Music is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school