Skip to content

Chestnut Hill College vs University of Valley Forge

Chestnut Hill College is a private college in Philadelphia, PA. University of Valley Forge is a private university in Phoenixville, PA. University of Valley Forge admits about 61% of applicants and Chestnut Hill College about 74%, making University of Valley Forge the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $27,970 a year at Chestnut Hill College after aid, and about $32,265 at University of Valley Forge. About 53% of students graduate at Chestnut Hill College, compared with 52% at University of Valley Forge. Ten years after enrolling, Chestnut Hill College alumni earn a median of about $52,015, against $39,016 for University of Valley Forge.

Chestnut Hill College

Philadelphia, PA · Private

University of Valley Forge

Phoenixville, PA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Phoenixville, PA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
815
471
Acceptance rate
74%
61%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.29–3.79
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
900–1090
920–1090
ACT (middle 50%)
16–20
17–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$27,970
$32,265
Full cost / yr
$58,168
$45,422
In-state tuition
$39,870
$25,240
Out-of-state tuition
$39,870
$25,240
Application fee
$35
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$28,011
$30,614
$30k - $48k
$24,447
$31,228
$48k - $75k
$22,714
$32,077
$75k - $110k
$28,168
$33,146
Over $110k
$33,175
$32,981
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
52%
Freshman retention
62%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,221
$35,671
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,015
$39,016
Median debt at graduation
$26,389
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
52%
47%
First-generation students
44%
33%
International students
3%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Chestnut Hill College or University of Valley Forge harder to get into?
University of Valley Forge is harder to get into. It admits about 61% of applicants, compared with 74% at Chestnut Hill College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Chestnut Hill College or University of Valley Forge?
Chestnut Hill College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $27,970 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,265 at University of Valley Forge. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Chestnut Hill College and University of Valley Forge?
Before aid, University of Valley Forge costs about $45,422 a year and Chestnut Hill College about $58,168. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Chestnut Hill College or University of Valley Forge?
Chestnut Hill College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $28,011 there, against about $30,614 at University of Valley Forge. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Chestnut Hill College or University of Valley Forge?
Chestnut Hill College is the larger of the two, with about 815 undergraduates against 471 at University of Valley Forge.
Does Chestnut Hill College or University of Valley Forge have a better graduation rate?
Chestnut Hill College has the higher graduation rate, at about 53% against 52% at University of Valley Forge.
Do graduates of Chestnut Hill College or University of Valley Forge earn more?
Chestnut Hill College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,015 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,016 for University of Valley Forge. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Chestnut Hill College and University of Valley Forge require SAT or ACT scores?
Chestnut Hill College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Valley Forge is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Chestnut Hill College and University of Valley Forge look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 900–1090 at Chestnut Hill College and 920–1090 at University of Valley Forge. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school