Skip to content

Claflin University vs Clinton College

Claflin University is a private university in Orangeburg, SC, and Clinton College is a private college in Rock Hill, SC. Clinton College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $11,458 a year against $17,800 at Claflin University. About 50% of students graduate at Claflin University, compared with 13% at Clinton College. Ten years after enrolling, Claflin University alumni earn a median of about $40,304, against $30,180 for Clinton College.

Claflin University

Orangeburg, SC · Private

Clinton College

Rock Hill, SC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Orangeburg, SC
Rock Hill, SC
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,706
126
Acceptance rate
65%
Not reported
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.33–3.83
Not reported
SAT (middle 50%)
840–1040
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
16–18
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,800
$11,458
Full cost / yr
$33,530
$25,015
In-state tuition
$18,282
$11,136
Out-of-state tuition
$18,282
$11,136
Application fee
$30
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,354
$11,105
$30k - $48k
$21,118
$11,999
$48k - $75k
$22,279
$6,854
$75k - $110k
$23,502
$12,222
Over $110k
$25,071
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
13%
Freshman retention
75%
58%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$29,227
$24,047
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,304
$30,180
Median debt at graduation
$29,000
$28,987
Student body
Pell grant recipients
73%
77%
First-generation students
32%
40%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Apr 3
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Claflin University or Clinton College?
Clinton College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,458 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,800 at Claflin University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Claflin University and Clinton College?
Before aid, Clinton College costs about $25,015 a year and Claflin University about $33,530. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Claflin University or Clinton College?
Clinton College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,105 there, against about $16,354 at Claflin University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Claflin University or Clinton College?
Claflin University is the larger of the two, with about 1,706 undergraduates against 126 at Clinton College.
Does Claflin University or Clinton College have a better graduation rate?
Claflin University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 13% at Clinton College.
Do graduates of Claflin University or Clinton College earn more?
Claflin University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $40,304 ten years after enrolling, against about $30,180 for Clinton College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school