Skip to content

Clarkson University vs SUNY at Fredonia

Clarkson University is a private university in Potsdam, NY, and SUNY at Fredonia is a public university in Fredonia, NY. Clarkson University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 77% of applicants against 78% at SUNY at Fredonia. SUNY at Fredonia is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,897 a year against $30,305 at Clarkson University. About 74% of students graduate at Clarkson University, compared with 52% at SUNY at Fredonia. Ten years after enrolling, Clarkson University alumni earn a median of about $89,696, against $54,247 for SUNY at Fredonia.

Clarkson University

Potsdam, NY · Private

SUNY at Fredonia

Fredonia, NY · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Potsdam, NY
Fredonia, NY
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,196
2,755
Acceptance rate
77%
78%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.45–3.95
3.45–3.95
SAT (middle 50%)
1200–1390
1160–1370
ACT (middle 50%)
25–32
23–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$30,305
$15,897
Full cost / yr
$79,022
$25,879
In-state tuition
$59,398
$8,831
Out-of-state tuition
$59,398
$19,771
Application fee
$50
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,335
$9,395
$30k - $48k
$19,934
$11,327
$48k - $75k
$23,321
$16,116
$75k - $110k
$30,990
$16,302
Over $110k
$35,757
$20,743
Outcomes
Graduation rate
74%
52%
Freshman retention
85%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$76,970
$40,580
Median earnings (10 yr)
$89,696
$54,247
Median debt at graduation
$26,000
$24,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
22%
39%
First-generation students
15%
23%
International students
4%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Dec 1
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jan 15
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Clarkson University or SUNY at Fredonia harder to get into?
Clarkson University is harder to get into. It admits about 77% of applicants, compared with 78% at SUNY at Fredonia. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Clarkson University or SUNY at Fredonia?
SUNY at Fredonia is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,897 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $30,305 at Clarkson University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Clarkson University and SUNY at Fredonia?
Before aid, SUNY at Fredonia costs about $25,879 a year and Clarkson University about $79,022. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Clarkson University or SUNY at Fredonia?
SUNY at Fredonia. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,395 there, against about $21,335 at Clarkson University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Clarkson University or SUNY at Fredonia?
SUNY at Fredonia is the larger of the two, with about 2,755 undergraduates against 2,196 at Clarkson University.
Does Clarkson University or SUNY at Fredonia have a better graduation rate?
Clarkson University has the higher graduation rate, at about 74% against 52% at SUNY at Fredonia.
Do graduates of Clarkson University or SUNY at Fredonia earn more?
Clarkson University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $89,696 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,247 for SUNY at Fredonia. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Clarkson University and SUNY at Fredonia require SAT or ACT scores?
Clarkson University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. SUNY at Fredonia is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Clarkson University and SUNY at Fredonia look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1200–1390 at Clarkson University and 1160–1370 at SUNY at Fredonia. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school