Skip to content

College for Creative Studies vs Rochester University

College for Creative Studies is a private college in Detroit, MI. Rochester University is a private university in Rochester Hills, MI. College for Creative Studies admits about 92% of applicants and Rochester University about 98%, making College for Creative Studies the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $21,456 a year at Rochester University after aid, and about $34,617 at College for Creative Studies. About 70% of students graduate at College for Creative Studies, compared with 43% at Rochester University. Ten years after enrolling, Rochester University alumni earn a median of about $48,707, against $44,860 for College for Creative Studies.

College for Creative Studies

Detroit, MI · Private

Rochester University

Rochester Hills, MI · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Detroit, MI
Rochester Hills, MI
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,230
792
Acceptance rate
92%
98%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.18–3.68
3.06–3.56
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1190
840–1060
ACT (middle 50%)
21–27
17–23
Test policy
Test blind
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$34,617
$21,456
Full cost / yr
$66,014
$41,787
In-state tuition
$53,350
$29,196
Out-of-state tuition
$53,350
$29,196
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$30,267
$18,463
$30k - $48k
$33,152
$17,173
$48k - $75k
$33,647
$19,771
$75k - $110k
$33,667
$20,596
Over $110k
$38,580
$25,821
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
43%
Freshman retention
82%
60%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,691
$40,813
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,860
$48,707
Median debt at graduation
$26,000
$24,475
Student body
Pell grant recipients
30%
31%
First-generation students
23%
41%
International students
7%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Feb 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is College for Creative Studies or Rochester University harder to get into?
College for Creative Studies is harder to get into. It admits about 92% of applicants, compared with 98% at Rochester University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, College for Creative Studies or Rochester University?
Rochester University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $21,456 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $34,617 at College for Creative Studies. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at College for Creative Studies and Rochester University?
Before aid, Rochester University costs about $41,787 a year and College for Creative Studies about $66,014. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, College for Creative Studies or Rochester University?
Rochester University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,463 there, against about $30,267 at College for Creative Studies. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, College for Creative Studies or Rochester University?
College for Creative Studies is the larger of the two, with about 1,230 undergraduates against 792 at Rochester University.
Does College for Creative Studies or Rochester University have a better graduation rate?
College for Creative Studies has the higher graduation rate, at about 70% against 43% at Rochester University.
Do graduates of College for Creative Studies or Rochester University earn more?
Rochester University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $48,707 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,860 for College for Creative Studies. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do College for Creative Studies and Rochester University require SAT or ACT scores?
College for Creative Studies is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Rochester University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do College for Creative Studies and Rochester University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1190 at College for Creative Studies and 840–1060 at Rochester University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school