Skip to content

Concord University vs West Virginia University Institute of Technology

Concord University is a public university in Athens, WV, and West Virginia University Institute of Technology is a public institute in Beckley, WV. West Virginia University Institute of Technology is the more selective of the two, admitting about 37% of applicants against 93% at Concord University. West Virginia University Institute of Technology is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $9,337 a year against $9,966 at Concord University. About 41% of students graduate at Concord University, compared with 34% at West Virginia University Institute of Technology. Ten years after enrolling, West Virginia University Institute of Technology alumni earn a median of about $55,939, against $42,703 for Concord University.

Concord University

Athens, WV · Public

West Virginia University Institute of Technology

Beckley, WV · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Athens, WV
Beckley, WV
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
1,504
981
Acceptance rate
93%
37%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.11–3.61
3.3–4
SAT (middle 50%)
830–1090
880–1120
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
19–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$9,966
$9,337
Full cost / yr
$20,434
$18,907
In-state tuition
$10,664
$8,424
Out-of-state tuition
$22,000
$21,072
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,021
$6,998
$30k - $48k
$6,930
$6,752
$48k - $75k
$10,438
$9,137
$75k - $110k
$13,336
$11,861
Over $110k
$15,472
$14,797
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
34%
Freshman retention
65%
62%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,094
$45,181
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,703
$55,939
Median debt at graduation
$18,900
$22,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
50%
27%
First-generation students
48%
30%
International students
4%
11%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Concord University or West Virginia University Institute of Technology harder to get into?
West Virginia University Institute of Technology is harder to get into. It admits about 37% of applicants, compared with 93% at Concord University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Concord University or West Virginia University Institute of Technology?
West Virginia University Institute of Technology is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,337 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $9,966 at Concord University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Concord University and West Virginia University Institute of Technology?
Before aid, West Virginia University Institute of Technology costs about $18,907 a year and Concord University about $20,434. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Concord University or West Virginia University Institute of Technology?
West Virginia University Institute of Technology. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $6,998 there, against about $8,021 at Concord University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Concord University or West Virginia University Institute of Technology?
Concord University is the larger of the two, with about 1,504 undergraduates against 981 at West Virginia University Institute of Technology.
Does Concord University or West Virginia University Institute of Technology have a better graduation rate?
Concord University has the higher graduation rate, at about 41% against 34% at West Virginia University Institute of Technology.
Do graduates of Concord University or West Virginia University Institute of Technology earn more?
West Virginia University Institute of Technology alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,939 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,703 for Concord University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Concord University and West Virginia University Institute of Technology require SAT or ACT scores?
Concord University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. West Virginia University Institute of Technology is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Concord University and West Virginia University Institute of Technology look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 830–1090 at Concord University and 880–1120 at West Virginia University Institute of Technology. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school