Skip to content

Cottey College vs Rockhurst University

Cottey College is a private college in Nevada, MO, and Rockhurst University is a private university in Kansas City, MO. Cottey College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 69% of applicants against 70% at Rockhurst University. Cottey College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,805 a year against $25,884 at Rockhurst University. About 75% of students graduate at Rockhurst University, compared with 59% at Cottey College. Ten years after enrolling, Rockhurst University alumni earn a median of about $67,102, against $35,422 for Cottey College.

Cottey College

Nevada, MO · Private

Rockhurst University

Kansas City, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Nevada, MO
Kansas City, MO
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
254
1,580
Acceptance rate
69%
70%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.37–3.87
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
1030–1120
1116–1246
ACT (middle 50%)
14–24
19–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,805
$25,884
Full cost / yr
$39,269
$59,898
In-state tuition
$27,562
$44,966
Out-of-state tuition
$27,562
$44,966
Application fee
$20
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$14,093
$22,797
$30k - $48k
$10,634
$19,895
$48k - $75k
$12,063
$21,997
$75k - $110k
$15,732
$26,522
Over $110k
$18,130
$30,348
Outcomes
Graduation rate
59%
75%
Freshman retention
67%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$32,903
$61,371
Median earnings (10 yr)
$35,422
$67,102
Median debt at graduation
$19,043
$18,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
46%
20%
First-generation students
31%
21%
International students
5%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 28

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Cottey College or Rockhurst University harder to get into?
Cottey College is harder to get into. It admits about 69% of applicants, compared with 70% at Rockhurst University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Cottey College or Rockhurst University?
Cottey College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,805 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,884 at Rockhurst University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Cottey College and Rockhurst University?
Before aid, Cottey College costs about $39,269 a year and Rockhurst University about $59,898. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Cottey College or Rockhurst University?
Cottey College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,093 there, against about $22,797 at Rockhurst University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Cottey College or Rockhurst University?
Rockhurst University is the larger of the two, with about 1,580 undergraduates against 254 at Cottey College.
Does Cottey College or Rockhurst University have a better graduation rate?
Rockhurst University has the higher graduation rate, at about 75% against 59% at Cottey College.
Do graduates of Cottey College or Rockhurst University earn more?
Rockhurst University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $67,102 ten years after enrolling, against about $35,422 for Cottey College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Cottey College and Rockhurst University require SAT or ACT scores?
Cottey College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Rockhurst University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Cottey College and Rockhurst University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1030–1120 at Cottey College and 1116–1246 at Rockhurst University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school