Skip to content

Davis & Elkins College vs Fairmont State University

Davis & Elkins College is a private college in Elkins, WV. Fairmont State University is a public university in Fairmont, WV. Davis & Elkins College admits about 94% of applicants and Fairmont State University about 99%, making Davis & Elkins College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $9,032 a year at Fairmont State University after aid, and about $18,273 at Davis & Elkins College. About 46% of students graduate at Fairmont State University, compared with 38% at Davis & Elkins College. Ten years after enrolling, Fairmont State University alumni earn a median of about $46,857, against $43,411 for Davis & Elkins College.

Davis & Elkins College

Elkins, WV · Private

Fairmont State University

Fairmont, WV · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Elkins, WV
Fairmont, WV
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
661
2,590
Acceptance rate
94%
99%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.14–3.64
3.06–3.56
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1125
810–1070
ACT (middle 50%)
1–14
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,273
$9,032
Full cost / yr
$44,888
$20,018
In-state tuition
$31,820
$8,708
Out-of-state tuition
$31,820
$18,924
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,999
$8,434
$30k - $48k
$17,005
$8,679
$48k - $75k
$15,690
$10,505
$75k - $110k
$19,465
$11,184
Over $110k
$22,496
$6,945
Outcomes
Graduation rate
38%
46%
Freshman retention
65%
67%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,495
$41,197
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,411
$46,857
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$21,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
34%
First-generation students
48%
41%
International students
15%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Davis & Elkins College or Fairmont State University harder to get into?
Davis & Elkins College is harder to get into. It admits about 94% of applicants, compared with 99% at Fairmont State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Davis & Elkins College or Fairmont State University?
Fairmont State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,032 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,273 at Davis & Elkins College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Davis & Elkins College and Fairmont State University?
Before aid, Fairmont State University costs about $20,018 a year and Davis & Elkins College about $44,888. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Davis & Elkins College or Fairmont State University?
Fairmont State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,434 there, against about $15,999 at Davis & Elkins College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Davis & Elkins College or Fairmont State University?
Fairmont State University is the larger of the two, with about 2,590 undergraduates against 661 at Davis & Elkins College.
Does Davis & Elkins College or Fairmont State University have a better graduation rate?
Fairmont State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 46% against 38% at Davis & Elkins College.
Do graduates of Davis & Elkins College or Fairmont State University earn more?
Fairmont State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $46,857 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,411 for Davis & Elkins College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Davis & Elkins College and Fairmont State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Davis & Elkins College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Fairmont State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Davis & Elkins College and Fairmont State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1125 at Davis & Elkins College and 810–1070 at Fairmont State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school