Skip to content

Dillard University vs Southern University and A & M College

Dillard University is a private university in New Orleans, LA. Southern University and A & M College is a public college in Baton Rouge, LA. Southern University and A & M College admits about 35% of applicants and Dillard University about 42%, making Southern University and A & M College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $20,077 a year at Southern University and A & M College after aid, and about $22,094 at Dillard University. About 44% of students graduate at Dillard University, compared with 28% at Southern University and A & M College. Ten years after enrolling, Southern University and A & M College alumni earn a median of about $43,371, against $39,196 for Dillard University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Dillard University

New Orleans, LA · Private

Southern University and A & M College

Baton Rouge, LA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
New Orleans, LA
Baton Rouge, LA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,063
5,519
Acceptance rate
42%
35%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–4
3.24–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
968–1202
790–1020
ACT (middle 50%)
18–22
15–19
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,094
$20,077
Full cost / yr
$39,202
$26,341
In-state tuition
$23,918
$9,922
Out-of-state tuition
$23,918
$17,272
Application fee
$40
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,819
$19,047
$30k - $48k
$21,094
$19,395
$48k - $75k
$23,224
$22,288
$75k - $110k
$26,032
$25,292
Over $110k
$27,019
$26,069
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
28%
Freshman retention
78%
60%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$28,507
$33,033
Median earnings (10 yr)
$39,196
$43,371
Median debt at graduation
$31,000
$29,251
Student body
Pell grant recipients
70%
68%
First-generation students
35%
40%
International students
3%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Dillard University or Southern University and A & M College harder to get into?
Southern University and A & M College is harder to get into. It admits about 35% of applicants, compared with 42% at Dillard University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Dillard University or Southern University and A & M College?
Southern University and A & M College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,077 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,094 at Dillard University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Dillard University and Southern University and A & M College?
Before aid, Southern University and A & M College costs about $26,341 a year and Dillard University about $39,202. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Dillard University or Southern University and A & M College?
Southern University and A & M College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $19,047 there, against about $19,819 at Dillard University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Dillard University or Southern University and A & M College?
Southern University and A & M College is the larger of the two, with about 5,519 undergraduates against 1,063 at Dillard University.
Does Dillard University or Southern University and A & M College have a better graduation rate?
Dillard University has the higher graduation rate, at about 44% against 28% at Southern University and A & M College.
Do graduates of Dillard University or Southern University and A & M College earn more?
Southern University and A & M College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $43,371 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,196 for Dillard University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Dillard University and Southern University and A & M College require SAT or ACT scores?
Dillard University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Southern University and A & M College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Dillard University and Southern University and A & M College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 968–1202 at Dillard University and 790–1020 at Southern University and A & M College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school