Dillard University vs Southern University Law Center
Dillard University is a private university in New Orleans, LA, and Southern University Law Center is a public university in Baton Rouge, LA. Dillard University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 42% of applicants against 57% at Southern University Law Center. Ten years after enrolling, Southern University Law Center alumni earn a median of about $43,371, against $39,196 for Dillard University.
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
New Orleans, LA
Baton Rouge, LA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,063
607
Acceptance rate
42%
57%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–4
3.6–4
SAT (middle 50%)
968–1202
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
18–22
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,094
Not reported
Full cost / yr
$39,202
Not reported
In-state tuition
$23,918
Not reported
Out-of-state tuition
$23,918
Not reported
Application fee
$40
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,819
Not reported
$30k - $48k
$21,094
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$23,224
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$26,032
Not reported
Over $110k
$27,019
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
Not reported
Freshman retention
78%
60%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$28,507
$33,033
Median earnings (10 yr)
$39,196
$43,371
Median debt at graduation
$31,000
$29,251
Student body
Pell grant recipients
70%
Not reported
First-generation students
35%
40%
International students
3%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
May 1
Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.
- Is Dillard University or Southern University Law Center harder to get into?
- Dillard University is harder to get into. It admits about 42% of applicants, compared with 57% at Southern University Law Center. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- Which is bigger, Dillard University or Southern University Law Center?
- Dillard University is the larger of the two, with about 1,063 undergraduates against 607 at Southern University Law Center.
- Do graduates of Dillard University or Southern University Law Center earn more?
- Southern University Law Center alumni earn more on average: a median of about $43,371 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,196 for Dillard University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Related comparisons
Dillard University vs Grambling State UniversityDillard University vs Louisiana State University-ShreveportDillard University vs Xavier University of LouisianaSouthern University Law Center vs Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-ShreveportSouthern University Law Center vs Centenary College of LouisianaSouthern University Law Center vs University of Holy Cross
Which of these is the better fit for you?
These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.
1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school