Skip to content

Dordt University vs Wartburg College

Dordt University is a private university in Sioux Center, IA. Wartburg College is a private college in Waverly, IA. Dordt University admits about 68% of applicants and Wartburg College about 76%, making Dordt University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $25,807 a year at Dordt University after aid, and about $32,908 at Wartburg College. About 68% of students graduate at Dordt University, compared with 66% at Wartburg College. Ten years after enrolling, Wartburg College alumni earn a median of about $56,201, against $52,559 for Dordt University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Dordt University

Sioux Center, IA · Private

Wartburg College

Waverly, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Sioux Center, IA
Waverly, IA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,597
1,452
Acceptance rate
68%
76%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.48–3.98
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
1070–1330
930–1200
ACT (middle 50%)
21–29
21–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$25,807
$32,908
Full cost / yr
$51,733
$64,359
In-state tuition
$37,050
$26,250
Out-of-state tuition
$37,050
$26,250
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,597
$21,688
$30k - $48k
$21,083
$20,751
$48k - $75k
$24,079
$27,056
$75k - $110k
$25,113
$28,873
Over $110k
$29,940
$38,864
Outcomes
Graduation rate
68%
66%
Freshman retention
85%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$50,551
$48,795
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,559
$56,201
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
20%
22%
First-generation students
12%
17%
International students
9%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Dordt University or Wartburg College harder to get into?
Dordt University is harder to get into. It admits about 68% of applicants, compared with 76% at Wartburg College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Dordt University or Wartburg College?
Dordt University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $25,807 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,908 at Wartburg College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Dordt University and Wartburg College?
Before aid, Dordt University costs about $51,733 a year and Wartburg College about $64,359. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Dordt University or Wartburg College?
Wartburg College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $21,688 there, against about $22,597 at Dordt University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Dordt University or Wartburg College?
Dordt University is the larger of the two, with about 1,597 undergraduates against 1,452 at Wartburg College.
Does Dordt University or Wartburg College have a better graduation rate?
Dordt University has the higher graduation rate, at about 68% against 66% at Wartburg College.
Do graduates of Dordt University or Wartburg College earn more?
Wartburg College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,201 ten years after enrolling, against about $52,559 for Dordt University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Dordt University and Wartburg College require SAT or ACT scores?
Dordt University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Wartburg College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Dordt University and Wartburg College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1070–1330 at Dordt University and 930–1200 at Wartburg College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school