Skip to content

Drake University vs Upper Iowa University

Drake University is a private university in Des Moines, IA, and Upper Iowa University is a private university in Fayette, IA. Drake University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 64% of applicants against 96% at Upper Iowa University. Upper Iowa University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $20,942 a year against $29,127 at Drake University. About 76% of students graduate at Drake University, compared with 38% at Upper Iowa University. Ten years after enrolling, Drake University alumni earn a median of about $71,901, against $52,766 for Upper Iowa University.

Drake University

Des Moines, IA · Private

Upper Iowa University

Fayette, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Des Moines, IA
Fayette, IA
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
2,543
1,994
Acceptance rate
64%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.5–4
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
1110–1350
970–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
24–29
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$29,127
$20,942
Full cost / yr
$64,835
$34,022
In-state tuition
$52,130
$19,475
Out-of-state tuition
$52,130
$19,475
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$25,824
$17,715
$30k - $48k
$23,275
$22,774
$48k - $75k
$25,171
$18,720
$75k - $110k
$27,408
$20,041
Over $110k
$33,126
$23,805
Outcomes
Graduation rate
76%
38%
Freshman retention
84%
68%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$58,233
$48,776
Median earnings (10 yr)
$71,901
$52,766
Median debt at graduation
$23,000
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
22%
32%
First-generation students
15%
45%
International students
4%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Drake University or Upper Iowa University harder to get into?
Drake University is harder to get into. It admits about 64% of applicants, compared with 96% at Upper Iowa University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Drake University or Upper Iowa University?
Upper Iowa University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,942 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $29,127 at Drake University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Drake University and Upper Iowa University?
Before aid, Upper Iowa University costs about $34,022 a year and Drake University about $64,835. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Drake University or Upper Iowa University?
Upper Iowa University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $17,715 there, against about $25,824 at Drake University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Drake University or Upper Iowa University?
Drake University is the larger of the two, with about 2,543 undergraduates against 1,994 at Upper Iowa University.
Does Drake University or Upper Iowa University have a better graduation rate?
Drake University has the higher graduation rate, at about 76% against 38% at Upper Iowa University.
Do graduates of Drake University or Upper Iowa University earn more?
Drake University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $71,901 ten years after enrolling, against about $52,766 for Upper Iowa University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Drake University and Upper Iowa University require SAT or ACT scores?
Drake University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Upper Iowa University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Drake University and Upper Iowa University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1110–1350 at Drake University and 970–1160 at Upper Iowa University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school