Skip to content

Upper Iowa University vs William Penn University

Upper Iowa University is a private university in Fayette, IA. William Penn University is a private university in Oskaloosa, IA. William Penn University admits about 52% of applicants and Upper Iowa University about 96%, making William Penn University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $20,942 a year at Upper Iowa University after aid, and about $22,601 at William Penn University. About 38% of students graduate at Upper Iowa University, compared with 31% at William Penn University. Ten years after enrolling, Upper Iowa University alumni earn a median of about $52,766, against $48,936 for William Penn University.

Upper Iowa University

Fayette, IA · Private

William Penn University

Oskaloosa, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Fayette, IA
Oskaloosa, IA
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,994
1,301
Acceptance rate
96%
52%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.34–3.84
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1160
880–1110
ACT (middle 50%)
17–23
16–22
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,942
$22,601
Full cost / yr
$34,022
$42,874
In-state tuition
$19,475
$29,750
Out-of-state tuition
$19,475
$29,750
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,715
$20,608
$30k - $48k
$22,774
$19,378
$48k - $75k
$18,720
$20,560
$75k - $110k
$20,041
$24,245
Over $110k
$23,805
$25,916
Outcomes
Graduation rate
38%
31%
Freshman retention
68%
58%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,776
$40,189
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,766
$48,936
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$22,415
Student body
Pell grant recipients
32%
47%
First-generation students
45%
38%
International students
4%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Apr 15

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Upper Iowa University or William Penn University harder to get into?
William Penn University is harder to get into. It admits about 52% of applicants, compared with 96% at Upper Iowa University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Upper Iowa University or William Penn University?
Upper Iowa University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,942 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,601 at William Penn University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Upper Iowa University and William Penn University?
Before aid, Upper Iowa University costs about $34,022 a year and William Penn University about $42,874. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Upper Iowa University or William Penn University?
Upper Iowa University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $17,715 there, against about $20,608 at William Penn University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Upper Iowa University or William Penn University?
Upper Iowa University is the larger of the two, with about 1,994 undergraduates against 1,301 at William Penn University.
Does Upper Iowa University or William Penn University have a better graduation rate?
Upper Iowa University has the higher graduation rate, at about 38% against 31% at William Penn University.
Do graduates of Upper Iowa University or William Penn University earn more?
Upper Iowa University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,766 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,936 for William Penn University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Upper Iowa University and William Penn University require SAT or ACT scores?
Upper Iowa University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. William Penn University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Upper Iowa University and William Penn University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1160 at Upper Iowa University and 880–1110 at William Penn University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school