Skip to content

Eastern Mennonite University vs Southern Virginia University

Eastern Mennonite University is a private university in Harrisonburg, VA, and Southern Virginia University is a private university in Buena Vista, VA. Southern Virginia University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 96% of applicants against 100% at Eastern Mennonite University. Southern Virginia University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $22,213 a year against $24,588 at Eastern Mennonite University. About 57% of students graduate at Eastern Mennonite University, compared with 36% at Southern Virginia University. Ten years after enrolling, Eastern Mennonite University alumni earn a median of about $54,869, against $50,002 for Southern Virginia University.

Eastern Mennonite University

Harrisonburg, VA · Private

Southern Virginia University

Buena Vista, VA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Harrisonburg, VA
Buena Vista, VA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
754
936
Acceptance rate
100%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.28–3.78
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
1040–1590
943–1253
ACT (middle 50%)
25–34
18–25
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,588
$22,213
Full cost / yr
$56,756
$34,431
In-state tuition
$43,920
$21,280
Out-of-state tuition
$43,920
$21,280
Application fee
$25
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,994
$18,957
$30k - $48k
$20,333
$19,501
$48k - $75k
$20,454
$20,630
$75k - $110k
$27,570
$23,407
Over $110k
$29,315
$27,108
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
36%
Freshman retention
76%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,158
$36,988
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,869
$50,002
Median debt at graduation
$24,813
$24,224
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
45%
First-generation students
32%
17%
International students
6%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Eastern Mennonite University or Southern Virginia University harder to get into?
Southern Virginia University is harder to get into. It admits about 96% of applicants, compared with 100% at Eastern Mennonite University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Eastern Mennonite University or Southern Virginia University?
Southern Virginia University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $22,213 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,588 at Eastern Mennonite University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Eastern Mennonite University and Southern Virginia University?
Before aid, Southern Virginia University costs about $34,431 a year and Eastern Mennonite University about $56,756. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Eastern Mennonite University or Southern Virginia University?
Southern Virginia University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,957 there, against about $22,994 at Eastern Mennonite University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Eastern Mennonite University or Southern Virginia University?
Southern Virginia University is the larger of the two, with about 936 undergraduates against 754 at Eastern Mennonite University.
Does Eastern Mennonite University or Southern Virginia University have a better graduation rate?
Eastern Mennonite University has the higher graduation rate, at about 57% against 36% at Southern Virginia University.
Do graduates of Eastern Mennonite University or Southern Virginia University earn more?
Eastern Mennonite University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,869 ten years after enrolling, against about $50,002 for Southern Virginia University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Eastern Mennonite University and Southern Virginia University require SAT or ACT scores?
Eastern Mennonite University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Southern Virginia University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Eastern Mennonite University and Southern Virginia University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1040–1590 at Eastern Mennonite University and 943–1253 at Southern Virginia University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school