Skip to content

Fairmont State University vs West Virginia University

Fairmont State University is a public university in Fairmont, WV. West Virginia University is a public university in Morgantown, WV. West Virginia University admits about 89% of applicants and Fairmont State University about 99%, making West Virginia University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $9,032 a year at Fairmont State University after aid, and about $15,634 at West Virginia University. About 63% of students graduate at West Virginia University, compared with 46% at Fairmont State University. Ten years after enrolling, West Virginia University alumni earn a median of about $55,939, against $46,857 for Fairmont State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Fairmont State University

Fairmont, WV · Public

West Virginia University

Morgantown, WV · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Fairmont, WV
Morgantown, WV
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,590
17,385
Acceptance rate
99%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.06–3.56
3.3–3.8
SAT (middle 50%)
810–1070
1010–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
17–23
20–26
Test policy
Considered
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$9,032
$15,634
Full cost / yr
$20,018
$26,415
In-state tuition
$8,708
$10,104
Out-of-state tuition
$18,924
$28,608
Application fee
Not reported
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,434
$9,450
$30k - $48k
$8,679
$12,501
$48k - $75k
$10,505
$14,179
$75k - $110k
$11,184
$18,710
Over $110k
$6,945
$20,273
Outcomes
Graduation rate
46%
63%
Freshman retention
67%
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,197
$45,181
Median earnings (10 yr)
$46,857
$55,939
Median debt at graduation
$21,000
$22,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
34%
22%
First-generation students
41%
30%
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Fairmont State University or West Virginia University harder to get into?
West Virginia University is harder to get into. It admits about 89% of applicants, compared with 99% at Fairmont State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Fairmont State University or West Virginia University?
Fairmont State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,032 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,634 at West Virginia University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Fairmont State University and West Virginia University?
Before aid, Fairmont State University costs about $20,018 a year and West Virginia University about $26,415. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Fairmont State University or West Virginia University?
Fairmont State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,434 there, against about $9,450 at West Virginia University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Fairmont State University or West Virginia University?
West Virginia University is the larger of the two, with about 17,385 undergraduates against 2,590 at Fairmont State University.
Does Fairmont State University or West Virginia University have a better graduation rate?
West Virginia University has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 46% at Fairmont State University.
Do graduates of Fairmont State University or West Virginia University earn more?
West Virginia University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,939 ten years after enrolling, against about $46,857 for Fairmont State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Fairmont State University and West Virginia University require SAT or ACT scores?
Fairmont State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. West Virginia University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Fairmont State University and West Virginia University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 810–1070 at Fairmont State University and 1010–1220 at West Virginia University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school