Skip to content

Florida Institute of Technology vs Ave Maria University

Florida Institute of Technology is a private institute in Melbourne, FL. Ave Maria University is a private university in Ave Maria, FL. Ave Maria University admits about 41% of applicants and Florida Institute of Technology about 58%, making Ave Maria University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $24,860 a year at Ave Maria University after aid, and about $35,639 at Florida Institute of Technology. About 64% of students graduate at Florida Institute of Technology, compared with 55% at Ave Maria University. Ten years after enrolling, Ave Maria University alumni earn a median of about $49,520, against $43,137 for Florida Institute of Technology.

Florida Institute of Technology

Melbourne, FL · Private

Ave Maria University

Ave Maria, FL · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Melbourne, FL
Ave Maria, FL
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
3,404
1,298
Acceptance rate
58%
41%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.51–4
3.36–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1120–1320
1018–1240
ACT (middle 50%)
23–28
21–28
Test policy
Required
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$35,639
$24,860
Full cost / yr
$62,440
$46,129
In-state tuition
$45,900
$30,198
Out-of-state tuition
$45,900
$30,198
Application fee
$0
$10
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$29,108
$18,761
$30k - $48k
$29,213
$20,840
$48k - $75k
$31,311
$23,790
$75k - $110k
$36,466
$24,088
Over $110k
$40,649
$27,107
Outcomes
Graduation rate
64%
55%
Freshman retention
80%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,941
$43,572
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,137
$49,520
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$20,776
Student body
Pell grant recipients
21%
21%
First-generation students
40%
18%
International students
12%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 26

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Florida Institute of Technology or Ave Maria University harder to get into?
Ave Maria University is harder to get into. It admits about 41% of applicants, compared with 58% at Florida Institute of Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Florida Institute of Technology or Ave Maria University?
Ave Maria University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $24,860 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $35,639 at Florida Institute of Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Florida Institute of Technology and Ave Maria University?
Before aid, Ave Maria University costs about $46,129 a year and Florida Institute of Technology about $62,440. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Florida Institute of Technology or Ave Maria University?
Ave Maria University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,761 there, against about $29,108 at Florida Institute of Technology. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Florida Institute of Technology or Ave Maria University?
Florida Institute of Technology is the larger of the two, with about 3,404 undergraduates against 1,298 at Ave Maria University.
Does Florida Institute of Technology or Ave Maria University have a better graduation rate?
Florida Institute of Technology has the higher graduation rate, at about 64% against 55% at Ave Maria University.
Do graduates of Florida Institute of Technology or Ave Maria University earn more?
Ave Maria University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,520 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,137 for Florida Institute of Technology. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Florida Institute of Technology and Ave Maria University require SAT or ACT scores?
Florida Institute of Technology requires SAT or ACT scores. Ave Maria University requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do Florida Institute of Technology and Ave Maria University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1120–1320 at Florida Institute of Technology and 1018–1240 at Ave Maria University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school