Skip to content

Florida Institute of Technology vs Southeastern University

Florida Institute of Technology is a private institute in Melbourne, FL. Southeastern University is a private university in Lakeland, FL. Southeastern University admits about 53% of applicants and Florida Institute of Technology about 58%, making Southeastern University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $31,942 a year at Southeastern University after aid, and about $35,639 at Florida Institute of Technology. About 64% of students graduate at Florida Institute of Technology, compared with 43% at Southeastern University. Ten years after enrolling, Southeastern University alumni earn a median of about $46,744, against $43,137 for Florida Institute of Technology.

Florida Institute of Technology

Melbourne, FL · Private

Southeastern University

Lakeland, FL · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Melbourne, FL
Lakeland, FL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
3,404
4,813
Acceptance rate
58%
53%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.51–4
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
1120–1320
960–1183
ACT (middle 50%)
23–28
19–25
Test policy
Required
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$35,639
$31,942
Full cost / yr
$62,440
$49,329
In-state tuition
$45,900
$32,950
Out-of-state tuition
$45,900
$32,950
Application fee
$0
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$29,108
$29,498
$30k - $48k
$29,213
$29,185
$48k - $75k
$31,311
$31,185
$75k - $110k
$36,466
$34,795
Over $110k
$40,649
$34,482
Outcomes
Graduation rate
64%
43%
Freshman retention
80%
70%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,941
$36,314
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,137
$46,744
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$21,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
21%
22%
First-generation students
40%
35%
International students
12%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
May 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Florida Institute of Technology or Southeastern University harder to get into?
Southeastern University is harder to get into. It admits about 53% of applicants, compared with 58% at Florida Institute of Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Florida Institute of Technology or Southeastern University?
Southeastern University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $31,942 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $35,639 at Florida Institute of Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Florida Institute of Technology and Southeastern University?
Before aid, Southeastern University costs about $49,329 a year and Florida Institute of Technology about $62,440. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Florida Institute of Technology or Southeastern University?
Florida Institute of Technology. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $29,108 there, against about $29,498 at Southeastern University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Florida Institute of Technology or Southeastern University?
Southeastern University is the larger of the two, with about 4,813 undergraduates against 3,404 at Florida Institute of Technology.
Does Florida Institute of Technology or Southeastern University have a better graduation rate?
Florida Institute of Technology has the higher graduation rate, at about 64% against 43% at Southeastern University.
Do graduates of Florida Institute of Technology or Southeastern University earn more?
Southeastern University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $46,744 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,137 for Florida Institute of Technology. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Florida Institute of Technology and Southeastern University require SAT or ACT scores?
Florida Institute of Technology requires SAT or ACT scores. Southeastern University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Florida Institute of Technology and Southeastern University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1120–1320 at Florida Institute of Technology and 960–1183 at Southeastern University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school