Skip to content

Florida Institute of Technology vs University of Florida-Online

Florida Institute of Technology is a private institute in Melbourne, FL, and University of Florida-Online is a public university in Gainesville, FL. Florida Institute of Technology is the more selective of the two, admitting about 58% of applicants against 61% at University of Florida-Online. University of Florida-Online is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $4,815 a year against $35,639 at Florida Institute of Technology. About 81% of students graduate at University of Florida-Online, compared with 64% at Florida Institute of Technology. Ten years after enrolling, University of Florida-Online alumni earn a median of about $71,588, against $43,137 for Florida Institute of Technology.

Florida Institute of Technology

Melbourne, FL · Private

University of Florida-Online

Gainesville, FL · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Melbourne, FL
Gainesville, FL
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
3,404
4,627
Acceptance rate
58%
61%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.51–4
3.55–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1120–1320
1250–1410
ACT (middle 50%)
23–28
27–31
Test policy
Required
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$35,639
$4,815
Full cost / yr
$62,440
$17,843
In-state tuition
$45,900
$3,876
Out-of-state tuition
$45,900
$16,579
Application fee
$0
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$29,108
$1,477
$30k - $48k
$29,213
$2,286
$48k - $75k
$31,311
$5,171
$75k - $110k
$36,466
$8,947
Over $110k
$40,649
$12,923
Outcomes
Graduation rate
64%
81%
Freshman retention
80%
95%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,941
$56,398
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,137
$71,588
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$15,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
21%
22%
First-generation students
40%
31%
International students
12%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Florida Institute of Technology or University of Florida-Online harder to get into?
Florida Institute of Technology is harder to get into. It admits about 58% of applicants, compared with 61% at University of Florida-Online. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Florida Institute of Technology or University of Florida-Online?
University of Florida-Online is cheaper on average. Students pay about $4,815 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $35,639 at Florida Institute of Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Florida Institute of Technology and University of Florida-Online?
Before aid, University of Florida-Online costs about $17,843 a year and Florida Institute of Technology about $62,440. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Florida Institute of Technology or University of Florida-Online?
University of Florida-Online. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $1,477 there, against about $29,108 at Florida Institute of Technology. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Florida Institute of Technology or University of Florida-Online?
University of Florida-Online is the larger of the two, with about 4,627 undergraduates against 3,404 at Florida Institute of Technology.
Does Florida Institute of Technology or University of Florida-Online have a better graduation rate?
University of Florida-Online has the higher graduation rate, at about 81% against 64% at Florida Institute of Technology.
Do graduates of Florida Institute of Technology or University of Florida-Online earn more?
University of Florida-Online alumni earn more on average: a median of about $71,588 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,137 for Florida Institute of Technology. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Florida Institute of Technology and University of Florida-Online require SAT or ACT scores?
Florida Institute of Technology requires SAT or ACT scores. University of Florida-Online requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do Florida Institute of Technology and University of Florida-Online look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1120–1320 at Florida Institute of Technology and 1250–1410 at University of Florida-Online. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school