Skip to content

Florida Institute of Technology vs University of West Florida

Florida Institute of Technology is a private institute in Melbourne, FL. University of West Florida is a public university in Pensacola, FL. Both admit about 58% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $9,364 a year at University of West Florida after aid, and about $35,639 at Florida Institute of Technology. About 64% of students graduate at Florida Institute of Technology, compared with 60% at University of West Florida. Ten years after enrolling, University of West Florida alumni earn a median of about $49,137, against $43,137 for Florida Institute of Technology.

Florida Institute of Technology

Melbourne, FL · Private

University of West Florida

Pensacola, FL · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Melbourne, FL
Pensacola, FL
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
3,404
9,330
Acceptance rate
58%
58%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.51–4
3.46–3.96
SAT (middle 50%)
1120–1320
1020–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
23–28
20–27
Test policy
Required
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$35,639
$9,364
Full cost / yr
$62,440
$19,947
In-state tuition
$45,900
$6,360
Out-of-state tuition
$45,900
$19,241
Application fee
$0
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$29,108
$4,815
$30k - $48k
$29,213
$6,462
$48k - $75k
$31,311
$8,077
$75k - $110k
$36,466
$12,456
Over $110k
$40,649
$16,620
Outcomes
Graduation rate
64%
60%
Freshman retention
80%
89%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,941
$42,204
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,137
$49,137
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$16,624
Student body
Pell grant recipients
21%
33%
First-generation students
40%
36%
International students
12%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
Apr 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Florida Institute of Technology or University of West Florida harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 58% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Florida Institute of Technology or University of West Florida?
University of West Florida is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,364 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $35,639 at Florida Institute of Technology. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Florida Institute of Technology and University of West Florida?
Before aid, University of West Florida costs about $19,947 a year and Florida Institute of Technology about $62,440. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Florida Institute of Technology or University of West Florida?
University of West Florida. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $4,815 there, against about $29,108 at Florida Institute of Technology. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Florida Institute of Technology or University of West Florida?
University of West Florida is the larger of the two, with about 9,330 undergraduates against 3,404 at Florida Institute of Technology.
Does Florida Institute of Technology or University of West Florida have a better graduation rate?
Florida Institute of Technology has the higher graduation rate, at about 64% against 60% at University of West Florida.
Do graduates of Florida Institute of Technology or University of West Florida earn more?
University of West Florida alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,137 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,137 for Florida Institute of Technology. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Florida Institute of Technology and University of West Florida require SAT or ACT scores?
Florida Institute of Technology requires SAT or ACT scores. University of West Florida considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Florida Institute of Technology and University of West Florida look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1120–1320 at Florida Institute of Technology and 1020–1230 at University of West Florida. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school