Skip to content

Harris-Stowe State University vs Lindenwood University

Harris-Stowe State University is a public university in Saint Louis, MO. Lindenwood University is a private university in Saint Charles, MO. Harris-Stowe State University admits about 51% of applicants and Lindenwood University about 57%, making Harris-Stowe State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $9,922 a year at Harris-Stowe State University after aid, and about $19,638 at Lindenwood University. About 50% of students graduate at Lindenwood University, compared with 28% at Harris-Stowe State University. Ten years after enrolling, Lindenwood University alumni earn a median of about $53,278, against $31,088 for Harris-Stowe State University.

Harris-Stowe State University

Saint Louis, MO · Public

Lindenwood University

Saint Charles, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Saint Charles, MO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
960
4,624
Acceptance rate
51%
57%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–3.8
3.46–3.96
SAT (middle 50%)
830–950
1023–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
15–19
22–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$9,922
$19,638
Full cost / yr
$21,493
$35,436
In-state tuition
$7,008
$21,600
Out-of-state tuition
$11,640
$21,600
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,827
$15,678
$30k - $48k
$10,963
$14,701
$48k - $75k
$9,814
$17,603
$75k - $110k
$8,563
$20,760
Over $110k
$6,238
$23,821
Outcomes
Graduation rate
28%
50%
Freshman retention
68%
66%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$26,634
$45,711
Median earnings (10 yr)
$31,088
$53,278
Median debt at graduation
$25,930
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
74%
30%
First-generation students
47%
35%
International students
6%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Harris-Stowe State University or Lindenwood University harder to get into?
Harris-Stowe State University is harder to get into. It admits about 51% of applicants, compared with 57% at Lindenwood University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Harris-Stowe State University or Lindenwood University?
Harris-Stowe State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $9,922 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,638 at Lindenwood University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Harris-Stowe State University and Lindenwood University?
Before aid, Harris-Stowe State University costs about $21,493 a year and Lindenwood University about $35,436. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Harris-Stowe State University or Lindenwood University?
Harris-Stowe State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,827 there, against about $15,678 at Lindenwood University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Harris-Stowe State University or Lindenwood University?
Lindenwood University is the larger of the two, with about 4,624 undergraduates against 960 at Harris-Stowe State University.
Does Harris-Stowe State University or Lindenwood University have a better graduation rate?
Lindenwood University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 28% at Harris-Stowe State University.
Do graduates of Harris-Stowe State University or Lindenwood University earn more?
Lindenwood University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,278 ten years after enrolling, against about $31,088 for Harris-Stowe State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Harris-Stowe State University and Lindenwood University require SAT or ACT scores?
Harris-Stowe State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Lindenwood University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Harris-Stowe State University and Lindenwood University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 830–950 at Harris-Stowe State University and 1023–1230 at Lindenwood University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school