Skip to content

Hastings College vs Midland University

Hastings College is a private college in Hastings, NE. Midland University is a private university in Fremont, NE. Midland University admits about 66% of applicants and Hastings College about 72%, making Midland University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $24,452 a year at Hastings College after aid, and about $26,267 at Midland University. About 51% of students graduate at Hastings College, compared with 43% at Midland University. Ten years after enrolling, Midland University alumni earn a median of about $52,163, against $51,303 for Hastings College.

Hastings College

Hastings, NE · Private

Midland University

Fremont, NE · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Hastings, NE
Fremont, NE
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
891
1,159
Acceptance rate
72%
66%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–3.86
3.38–3.88
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1180
963–1170
ACT (middle 50%)
26–30
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,452
$26,267
Full cost / yr
$51,422
$55,719
In-state tuition
$37,770
$42,050
Out-of-state tuition
$37,770
$42,050
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,646
$21,086
$30k - $48k
$18,812
$22,445
$48k - $75k
$21,933
$23,055
$75k - $110k
$24,986
$28,289
Over $110k
$27,290
$28,680
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
43%
Freshman retention
66%
69%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,590
$45,145
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,303
$52,163
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$26,134
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
28%
First-generation students
27%
34%
International students
6%
9%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Hastings College or Midland University harder to get into?
Midland University is harder to get into. It admits about 66% of applicants, compared with 72% at Hastings College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Hastings College or Midland University?
Hastings College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $24,452 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,267 at Midland University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Hastings College and Midland University?
Before aid, Hastings College costs about $51,422 a year and Midland University about $55,719. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Hastings College or Midland University?
Midland University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $21,086 there, against about $21,646 at Hastings College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Hastings College or Midland University?
Midland University is the larger of the two, with about 1,159 undergraduates against 891 at Hastings College.
Does Hastings College or Midland University have a better graduation rate?
Hastings College has the higher graduation rate, at about 51% against 43% at Midland University.
Do graduates of Hastings College or Midland University earn more?
Midland University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,163 ten years after enrolling, against about $51,303 for Hastings College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Hastings College and Midland University require SAT or ACT scores?
Hastings College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Midland University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Hastings College and Midland University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1180 at Hastings College and 963–1170 at Midland University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school