Skip to content

Indiana University-Kokomo vs Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion

Indiana University-Kokomo is a public university in Kokomo, IN, and Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion is a private university in Marion, IN. Indiana University-Kokomo is the more selective of the two, admitting about 86% of applicants against 89% at Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion. Indiana University-Kokomo is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $3,968 a year against $22,866 at Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion. About 67% of students graduate at Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion, compared with 45% at Indiana University-Kokomo. Ten years after enrolling, Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion alumni earn a median of about $59,986, against $49,917 for Indiana University-Kokomo.

Indiana University-Kokomo

Kokomo, IN · Public

Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion

Marion, IN · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Kokomo, IN
Marion, IN
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,352
1,974
Acceptance rate
86%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.29–3.79
3.24–3.74
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1150
960–1180
ACT (middle 50%)
21–27
19–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$3,968
$22,866
Full cost / yr
$11,837
$44,776
In-state tuition
$8,424
$32,352
Out-of-state tuition
$22,811
$32,352
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$0*
$19,793
$30k - $48k
$0*
$14,896
$48k - $75k
$2,375
$18,313
$75k - $110k
$9,025
$22,336
Over $110k
$10,593
$27,265
Outcomes
Graduation rate
45%
67%
Freshman retention
69%
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$42,134
$51,329
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,917
$59,986
Median debt at graduation
$16,961
$24,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
27%
First-generation students
40%
47%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

* Reported aid for this income range averaged above the billed cost.

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Indiana University-Kokomo or Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion harder to get into?
Indiana University-Kokomo is harder to get into. It admits about 86% of applicants, compared with 89% at Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Indiana University-Kokomo or Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion?
Indiana University-Kokomo is cheaper on average. Students pay about $3,968 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,866 at Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Indiana University-Kokomo and Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion?
Before aid, Indiana University-Kokomo costs about $11,837 a year and Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion about $44,776. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Indiana University-Kokomo or Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion?
Indiana University-Kokomo. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $-583 there, against about $19,793 at Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Indiana University-Kokomo or Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion?
Indiana University-Kokomo is the larger of the two, with about 2,352 undergraduates against 1,974 at Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion.
Does Indiana University-Kokomo or Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion have a better graduation rate?
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion has the higher graduation rate, at about 67% against 45% at Indiana University-Kokomo.
Do graduates of Indiana University-Kokomo or Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion earn more?
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,986 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,917 for Indiana University-Kokomo. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Indiana University-Kokomo and Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion require SAT or ACT scores?
Indiana University-Kokomo is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Indiana University-Kokomo and Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1150 at Indiana University-Kokomo and 960–1180 at Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school