Skip to content

Jacksonville State University vs Spring Hill College

Jacksonville State University is a public university in Jacksonville, AL, and Spring Hill College is a private college in Mobile, AL. Spring Hill College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 77% of applicants against 78% at Jacksonville State University. Jacksonville State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,279 a year against $20,449 at Spring Hill College. About 54% of students graduate at Spring Hill College, compared with 53% at Jacksonville State University. Ten years after enrolling, Spring Hill College alumni earn a median of about $51,500, against $45,235 for Jacksonville State University.

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, AL · Public

Spring Hill College

Mobile, AL · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Jacksonville, AL
Mobile, AL
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
7,036
782
Acceptance rate
78%
77%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1290
1110–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
17–29
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,279
$20,449
Full cost / yr
$24,257
$39,936
In-state tuition
$12,894
$24,054
Out-of-state tuition
$23,334
$24,054
Application fee
$35
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,472
$15,598
$30k - $48k
$12,622
$20,141
$48k - $75k
$15,343
$22,317
$75k - $110k
$17,480
$20,642
Over $110k
$18,183
$26,240
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
54%
Freshman retention
65%
70%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,158
$41,358
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,235
$51,500
Median debt at graduation
$22,189
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
32%
First-generation students
36%
25%
International students
4%
11%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Jacksonville State University or Spring Hill College harder to get into?
Spring Hill College is harder to get into. It admits about 77% of applicants, compared with 78% at Jacksonville State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Jacksonville State University or Spring Hill College?
Jacksonville State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,279 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,449 at Spring Hill College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Jacksonville State University and Spring Hill College?
Before aid, Jacksonville State University costs about $24,257 a year and Spring Hill College about $39,936. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Jacksonville State University or Spring Hill College?
Jacksonville State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,472 there, against about $15,598 at Spring Hill College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Jacksonville State University or Spring Hill College?
Jacksonville State University is the larger of the two, with about 7,036 undergraduates against 782 at Spring Hill College.
Does Jacksonville State University or Spring Hill College have a better graduation rate?
Spring Hill College has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 53% at Jacksonville State University.
Do graduates of Jacksonville State University or Spring Hill College earn more?
Spring Hill College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $51,500 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,235 for Jacksonville State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Jacksonville State University and Spring Hill College require SAT or ACT scores?
Jacksonville State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Spring Hill College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Jacksonville State University and Spring Hill College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1000–1290 at Jacksonville State University and 1110–1230 at Spring Hill College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school